$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 106.91

6,658 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
42% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dungeon Fighter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Item usage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leonardo Gomes
Brazil
flag msg tools
Hello!

Everytime me and my friends get an item like "Eau de napalm" (+3 damage if you hit) or "voodoo dool" (return the damage to the monster if you miss). We start the argument:

-"We can use these items before or after we throw the dice?" These items are more powerful in the latter. How we deal with this situation?


Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We always play "after." Ditto for the ones providing a reroll, or the one-time-use shields that completely negate the damage from a "miss."

Or in other words, we assume (and allow) that the discard-to-use cards can be used before or after or basically any time you choose. Obviously the "discard to use a fire/water/earth/wind elemental die" from the expansions need to be used before you throw. But Voodoo Doll or Cloak of Invisibility would be much worse if you had to use them before throwing as insurance only (or intentional miss, in the case of Voodoo Doll).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonardo Gomes
Brazil
flag msg tools
Thank you.
Your answer makes sense. Reading once more the rules they say to use your discard item "anytime". I'll do as you say from now on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Pra'
Italy
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
iNano78 wrote:
We always play "after." Ditto for the ones providing a reroll, or the one-time-use shields that completely negate the damage from a "miss."

Or in other words, we assume (and allow) that the discard-to-use cards can be used before or after or basically any time you choose. Obviously the "discard to use a fire/water/earth/wind elemental die" from the expansions need to be used before you throw. But Voodoo Doll or Cloak of Invisibility would be much worse if you had to use them before throwing as insurance only (or intentional miss, in the case of Voodoo Doll).

This is correct. You can use discard-to-use items any time you want.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.