$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 118.04

7,151 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

For the People» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dumb land fort question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Dolges
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been reading the latest rules in preparation for a game with a friend.

" An ungarrisoned fort has no SPs present.
An ungarrisoned fort entered by land, not naval movement, is
eliminated (counter) or captured (coastal fort)."

So, I take this as meaning that if a Fort is in Manassas for example, but has no SPs in it, an opposing un-intercepted force that moves into Manassas gets to remove the Fort with no battle. This being different than if a Fort is amphibiously assaulted, such as a coastal fort or a fort on a river attacked by water.

Do I have this right?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is my reading of it, yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Trad

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, like Dan said.

If the fort belonged to Davis, there is a one point SW shift on both sides as well. Also counts for Emancipation Proc play.

Fort Wilson can be attacked by land. [edit: Ft. Monroe]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Young
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Old Ways Are Best!
badge
Check Six!
mbmbmbmbmb
You mean Fort Monroe? That looks to be the only coastal fort that can be attacked by land...
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Dolges
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.