$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 80.83

5,415 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34.1% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Graveyard + Boost rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrey
Russia
St. Petersburg
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Since graveyard ability says "play a unit" (not "put into play"), can you use the boost ability of the unit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Random_Phobosis wrote:
Since graveyard ability says "play a unit" (not "put into play"), can you use the boost ability of the unit?


Boost is a thing you can only do when playing a card from hand by paying its cost.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrey
Russia
St. Petersburg
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sharpo Bject
United States
flag msg tools
You can use boost when playing a card, even if you are playing it from some zone other than your hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sharpobject wrote:
You can use boost when playing a card, even if you are playing it from some zone other than your hand.


That's different from what's in the Codex rulings spreadsheet that David sent out to the KS backers awhile back:

Quote:
If something has you "put a unit into play," that's different from "playing it" so you can't pay for or use a boost effect in that case. Likewise, if a unit with a boost enters play through any means other than playing it from your hand (such as being returned from Second Chances or Geiger or Pasternaak's max level abilities) then you can't use its boost.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sharpo Bject
United States
flag msg tools
Alright, I'll fix that entry in the spreadsheet.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sharpobject wrote:
Alright, I'll fix that entry in the spreadsheet.


Cool; so it sounds like pretty much any time you're actually paying the gold cost for the card, you can boost it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Krasny
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Oh wow... So never worker away your graveyard, it's INSANE VALUE.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.