$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.34

7,507 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does surfacing count as entering tile? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When a surfaced Dragon enters a tile with the Knight (or Goblin if no Knight), the Knight/Goblin gets a free attack.

If a Knight/Goblin is sitting on a Crystal tile and the Dragon surfaces on that tile, do they get that attack? I would assume no, since the Dragon surfaces at the end of its turn (which gives the Knight/Goblin a shot at them later) and the Dragon doesn't "enter" the tile while above ground, but just wanted to check.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
The other player does get a free attack in that situation, if they're able. The Dragon is essentially making a vertical move into that "upper" cave space instead of the usual horizontal.



Note for the Dragon player: Find a better place to surface.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Woelf wrote:
The other player does get a free attack in that situation, if they're able. The Dragon is essentially making a vertical move into that "upper" cave space instead of the usual horizontal.

Just to confirm, the Knight would get one free attack immediately following the Dragon's turn, then be able to attack with all her encounters in the next turn (before the Dragon gets a chance to move)?

Also, it was previously stated that Goblins (against an Ash Dragon) do not have to attack when entering the tile with the Dragon, but does a Goblin Tribe (against Ash Dragon) have to attack if the Dragon enters their tile, or is it just an option? Rules seem to imply it's automatic.
(Since Tribes lose Rage and scatter immediately on attacking, I could see a Goblin player wanting to wait until their turn to attack to keep Rage up and allow them to draw additional cards)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
dsdhornet wrote:
Woelf wrote:
The other player does get a free attack in that situation, if they're able. The Dragon is essentially making a vertical move into that "upper" cave space instead of the usual horizontal.

Just to confirm, the Knight would get one free attack immediately following the Dragon's turn, then be able to attack with all her encounters in the next turn (before the Dragon gets a chance to move)?
Correct. That's why surfacing there is generally going to be a very, very bad idea.

Quote:
Also, it was previously stated that Goblins (against an Ash Dragon) do not have to attack when entering the tile with the Dragon, but does a Goblin Tribe (against Ash Dragon) have to attack if the Dragon enters their tile, or is it just an option? Rules seem to imply it's automatic.
(Since Tribes lose Rage and scatter immediately on attacking, I could see a Goblin player wanting to wait until their turn to attack to keep Rage up and allow them to draw additional cards)
Once the Dragon has surfaced, the attack would be automatic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.