$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 118.04

7,151 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Amphibious Assault - basic game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
poppodue poppodue
Italy
Firenze
flag msg tools
mb
Hi all,

I'm at a loss to properly understanding the mechanics of amphibious assaults.
Suppose the following. First turn 1861. In a given action phase the Union player has 2 SPs in the Chesapeake Bay Box and moves them by Naval Transport to Galveston where they land unopposed - no enemy SPs down there. What's going to happen? According to 6.3 third bullet, Galveston is confederate-controlled; hence, according to 20.5.1, an amphibious assault must take place, to the effect that a 2 vs. 0 battle is going to ensue.

Is the above correct? (for my part, I suspect it's not...)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If there's no defenders there's no battle. You just land unopposed. I agree this isn't stated so clearly in the original rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
RIP Mr. Gygax
mbmbmbmbmb
Agree with David.

11.1.1 say : "A battle is initiated when the moving player moves into a hex containing an ennemy Fort, Coastal Forts or SPs".

(Gavelston Hex is neither a Fort or Coastal Fort and is empty of SPs.)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
poppodue poppodue
Italy
Firenze
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks to all, it winds up as I suspected, still the matter is unclear by the rulebook
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.