$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 64.74

4,572 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28.8% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arcane Academy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question Regarding Rings of Velocity rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ruduen ???
msg tools
I had a question regarding how Rings of Velocity Functioned. For reference, their text says:

"Discard and Redraw a tile in the center row. Then, put 1 Prestige Token on this item."

What happens when you're not able to either discard or redraw? Do you just try to do as much of it as you're able? Do you still get the prestige token?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael DeVito
United States
Gaithersburg
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmb
I just spoke to Eric M. Lang and he had this to say:

Quote:
If there are no tiles to draw or discard you do as much of that as you can, but if you can't do the whole thing you get no prestige.


To clarify:

- You only earn a Prestige token if you are able to discard AND draw a tile.

- You are able to discard a tile from the middle without replacing it, but only if there are no tiles left in the bag to replace the one you discarded. (In this instance you would NOT receive a Prestige token)


This could still be useful if for example you had "Armor of Inverse" and were trying to score off of discarded tiles. Hopefully that helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
Quote:
If there are no tiles to draw or discard you do as much of that as you can, but if you can't do the whole thing you get no prestige.


That wording literally contradicts itself. "Do as much as you can, but then don't do the last part just because you couldn't do all the prior parts."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael DeVito
United States
Gaithersburg
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmb
Rabid, thanks for pointing that out. I updated the ruling to make things more clear. For reference:

Quote:

- You only earn a Prestige token if you are able to discard AND draw a tile.

- You are able to discard a tile from the middle without replacing it, but only if there are no tiles left in the bag to replace the one you discarded. (In this instance you would NOT receive a Prestige token)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.