$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 67.97

4,747 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.9% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

ONUS! Rome Vs Carthage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Help with encircle pls rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dmitri Kononenko
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
Hello.

I read and understand all rules, but not encircling, looks like this section missing. Help pls.

1. Are encircle tokens each give -1 morale like extending front?

2. Defending unit can encircle in next turn, activating by combat, or you have to activate by card?

3. p.19 mentioning about Counter-attack. What is it? What mean counter-attack encirclement counter?

4. p.19 "Withdrawing unit may remove encirlement counter..." Or may not remove? Are rules talk about withdrawing unit's tokens? How unit looks with counters after withdraw?

5. Can you withdraw if encircle tokens bloking way (in the rear)?

6. p.23 when contact lost with destroyed or fleeing unit encircle markers removing. But if enemy withdrawing? You just remove tokens when contact lost?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HANJEL T
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Interested in answers...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Manuel Moreno Ramos
Spain
Cádiz
Cádiz
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Greetings,

I hope this can clarify your doubts about encirclement tokens use.

prapor wrote:

1. Are encircle tokens each give -1 morale like extending front?

The -1 morale modifier is only given when used as extending front. When a unit encircles the morale modifier isn't applicable.

prapor wrote:

2. Defending unit can encircle in next turn, activating by combat, or you have to activate by card?

It should be activated by a card.

prapor wrote:

3. p.19 mentioning about Counter-attack. What is it? What mean counter-attack encirclement counter?

4. p.19 "Withdrawing unit may remove encirlement counter..." Or may not remove? Are rules talk about withdrawing unit's tokens? How unit looks with counters after withdraw?

5. Can you withdraw if encircle tokens bloking way (in the rear)?

6. p.23 when contact lost with destroyed or fleeing unit encircle markers removing. But if enemy withdrawing? You just remove tokens when contact lost?


There are 3 differents actions: Retreat, withdrawing and fleeing.

In all af them, the unit that is retreating/withdrawing or fleeing needs space to move backwards. Once the unit has moved and there isn't contact between enemy units, the encirclement tokens are retired if they are used to encircle.

If the action was retreat, before to move the unit receives a free attack. The encirclement tokens are retired.

If the action was fleeing, the unit moves and encirclement tokens are retired without receives new attacks.

If the action was withdrawing, the unit moves without receive a free attack, and the encirclement tokens are retired, but the unit receives a 1 dice attack per each encirclement token to be retired.

For all cases (retreat, withdrawing and fleeing) and for both sides, if they are using extended front, they received -1 morale modifier and they aren't retired after the movement.

3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dmitri Kononenko
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
Thank you, help a lot!

Only two moments please.

Encircle tokens blocking way, right?

If extended front gives -1 morale and encircle tokens not, and tokens moving while encircle, you just have to remember, if unit was extended before combat and mark it some way?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Manuel Moreno Ramos
Spain
Cádiz
Cádiz
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
prapor wrote:

Encircle tokens blocking way, right?

Yes. It blocks movement.

prapor wrote:

If extended front gives -1 morale and encircle tokens not, and tokens moving while encircle, you just have to remember, if unit was extended before combat and mark it some way?


Oficially there isn't any method to distinguish units encircling from extended formation, or extended formation encircling. But in a easy way, you can use a encirclement token for extended formation, and you can place a second encircle tokens about the extended formation if this section is encircling too.

In that way you can identify extended formations(1 token), encirclement(1 token), and extended formation encircling(2 tokens).

Best regards,



Jose Manuel
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dmitri Kononenko
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
Thank you a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jmkinki wrote:
There are 3 differents actions: Retreat, withdrawing and fleeing.

In all af them, the unit that is retreating/withdrawing or fleeing needs space to move backwards. Once the unit has moved and there isn't contact between enemy units, the encirclement tokens are retired if they are used to encircle.

If the action was retreat, before to move the unit receives a free attack. The encirclement tokens are retired.

If the action was fleeing, the unit moves and encirclement tokens are retired without receives new attacks.

If the action was withdrawing, the unit moves without receive a free attack, and the encirclement tokens are retired, but the unit receives a 1 dice attack per each encirclement token to be retired.

For all cases (retreat, withdrawing and fleeing) and for both sides, if they are using extended front, they received -1 morale modifier and they aren't retired after the movement.


That is an exceedingly helpful summary, thank you . i'm adding that to my "cheat sheet" right now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.