$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 101.35

6,404 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
40.4% of Goal | left

Support:

Rusty Shackleford
msg tools
Good afternoon!

I was wondering if because Elder Mok's special power doesn't say "once per combat" or "once per combat round" it can be activated as many times as the player can play a surge token?

We had a player build up his Spirit Test to 8 cards! He then got an item or two with surges on them. He then rolled two surges vs the boss, and he resolved them separately casting Unleash Spirit twice in one combat round. It seemed a bit over powered, but hey, what an awesome character build.

Any rule I missed preventing this from happening?

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marlene Thornstrom
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless otherwise specified, you can only use a surge ability once per combat round.

From the rules reference (Surge abilities):
Each surge ability cannot be triggered more than once per combat round.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
Scotland
Elgin
Moray
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yeah, it's a surge ability, so by default can only be used once per combat round as Marlene quotes from the rules above. So it doesn't need to state that restriction.

There are some ways around this, like assets which allow you to copy another surge ability effectively letting you use that ability twice. But in general each surge ability is once per combat round only.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty Shackleford
msg tools
Thanks for clearing it up everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.