$18.00
The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 120.86

7,273 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.8% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Trek Panic» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Rebuilding shields" clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Konczal
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
Quick clarification needed: can a shield be rebuilt on a section of the ship where the hull has already been destroyed? Or do you have to rebuild the hull before you can rebuild the shield in that section of the ship?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Morro Bay
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't remember the rules putting any restrictions on it, so we have played that it's legal to rebuild a shield in front a a destroyed hull section.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Konczal
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
Thanks. That is what we were thinking too--especially since it is done in the ST series and films too
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Stewart
United States
Fremont
California
flag msg tools
mb
Nothing in the rulebook prohibits it, neither is it prohibited in the Castle Panic rules on which this game is based. In fact, I'd argue that reading between the lines encourages it.

If you think about it, the fact that you can repair a "destroyed" section of the hull in space implies that it's not be totally destroyed (more "crippled" really). Some of the systems do, in fact, still work — the weapons still work just fine, so why couldn't you bring the shield generators back online?

So yes, get those shields back up! Your crew will thank you.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.