$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 54.18

3,978 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
25.1% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Dan Mixer
United States
Orrington
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If a card receives extra Power Points from an effect, do those count towards the zone it's in?

Example: A card my get an extra power point for each development in its zone. So, if the card is the Kingdom side, and there are 3 developments there, does that card now give you 3 extra resources?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yes. anytime you add power symbols to a unit it contributes to which ever zone they're in. So if you're new to the game it can be easy to accidentally start drawing too many cards from those special powers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Mixer
United States
Orrington
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"yes. anytime you add power symbols to a unit it contributes to which ever zone they're in. So if you're new to the game it can be easy to accidentally start drawing too many cards from those special powers. "

Forgive me, but those 2 sentences seem to be going against each other. Why would it be easy to draw too many cards if the extra power symbols do indeed contribute to their zone?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I shouldn't have added that. I just meant that if you have a card that gets extra power points for developments and you play it in your quest zone.

Later in the game you're trying to save the quest zone from burning so you start playing developments there. Now that cards gets boosted and you're drawing 6 or 7 cards a turn because all these abilities are triggering.

it was a bad example, sorry about that.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Schwarz
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IMagus wrote:
yes. anytime you add power symbols to a unit it contributes to which ever zone they're in. So if you're new to the game it can be easy to accidentally start drawing too many cards from those special powers.


You need to be careful what you play in your Questing Zone.

Though the same thing applies for the kingdom zone. You can end up generating a lot of resources per turn, if you've got cards there that can inflate.

The important thing to keep in mind is if the units or support cards you're playing specify a zone. Some only have their effect when they're played in the correct one. So if a card says: "Kingdom: Gain one (P) for each Development in this zone." And you play it in your quest zone, it won't gain additional power at all.

It sounds a lot more complicated than it actually is in game. Just remember you can eliminate yourself from the game by emptying your draw deck. So, the Quest zone can be tricky to defend and build up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But having too many resources isn't really a problem. Drawing too many cards, can be.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Schwarz
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Windopaene wrote:
But having too many resources isn't really a problem. Drawing too many cards, can be.
Exactly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.