$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 106.6

6,644 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Altar & 3 mana rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
RIP Mr. Gygax
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

I'm on an Ancient Ruins Tile and the Altar tribute is 3 green mana :

The source is composed of 2 red & 1 white mana die.

1 - I play the advanced effect (white) for "MANA DRAW" with the white die.
"Take a mana die from the Source and set it to any color except gold. Gain two mana tokens of that color.Do not reroll this die when you return it to the Source"

2 - In take 1 red die (from the source) and set it to green. I have 2 green tokens

Question :

Can i add the green die to the 2 green tokens for the Altar tribute (3 green mana) ?

Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Suita
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
mbmbmbmbmb
No.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A. Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've always played that you don't return it to the Source until the end of your turn (so you can't use it). But now you make me wonder.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BertGK wrote:
Can i add the green die to the 2 green tokens for the Altar tribute (3 green mana) ?


No. The intention is that you take it but set it aside and can't do anything else with it. I agree that the wording is confusing.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
RIP Mr. Gygax
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok
Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Humulus Lupulus
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree. You're using that (now) green die in order to generate 2 green mana tokens. That die is not available any more. However, note that taking a die from the source does not count as your one die you may use from the source each turn. So, you could still use one of the red or white dice. reading comprehension fail.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Desiderata wrote:
So, you could still use one of the red or white dice.


No, he already used a white die from the Source to power Mana Draw. That's his one die for the turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Humulus Lupulus
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
Desiderata wrote:
So, you could still use one of the red or white dice.


No, he already used a white die from the Source to power Mana Draw. That's his one die for the turn.

Ah, right! Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
It's No for 2 different reasons.

1. You already used a White Die from the source this turn, so you're not allowed to take any more dice from the source
2. Even if you could take more dice from the source, the only ones there are red. The one you 'set' to green is in limbo until the end of your turn when you actually return that die back to the source (without re-rolling it)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.