$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 66.06

4,644 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.3% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Please can you explain the movement to me. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wolf Dude
msg tools
I am a bit confused about the movement in this game.


When you move units into an area containing enemy units, you
must battle. When you move units into an area containing only
neutral units, you must either battle or attempt diplomacy.

Is the hex constituted as an area? what if you move but are not adjacent to an enemy unit, but on the same connected hex. Do you still battle them?

Also, what is an activated area? and how come you cannot move a unit in that area out? I don't understand the logic of this. Does it mean you can only move a unit once and you have to produce some new units?


Finally, the game says you have to control 6 areas which have dragon runes in them to win the game. But there are other ways to get runes like through quests. Does it mean if you start off with 1 real rune, you can essentially win the game by getting 5 other runes by other means through questing and you can win the game? or is it done by conquest only.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hauke Pflüger
Germany
flag msg tools
Hi,

You are right, when you move units into areas containing enemy units, you have to fight them. Neutral units can be fought too or you can try to incorporate them by using diplomacy.

Areas are the six-edged fields (hexes) on the various tiles. Every hex has a unique code, consisting of the number of the tile it is on and a letter, for example 6b.
I suppose with the term "connected hex" you mean these tiles containing several hexes? When your units are on the same tile with enemy units, but on different hexes, they cannot fight.

Activated area means, that you have put an activation token on an area in order to move units there, by using the command card 2 or 3.
Units cannot move into or out of activated areas for one year. In the next spring all activation tokens on the board are removed and the areas aren't activated anymore and the units on them are free to move.

Everytime you gain a rune you have to place a true and a false rune token in friendly or uncontrolled areas. There are several ways that let you gain runes, but every rune needs to be placed on an area. When you control 6 areas with runes placed on them by the end of the game, you might win.

There are some special rules and exceptions for special situations, so better read the rulebook again. And then maybe again .
Have fun!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garrett
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
haukepauke wrote:
Activated area means, that you have put an activation token on an area in order to move units there, by using the command card 2 or 3.
Units cannot move into or out of activated areas for one year. In the next spring all activation tokens on the board are removed and the areas aren't activated anymore and the units on them are free to move.


One slight clarification. Friendly units cannot move OUT of an area that contains your faction's activation token and you cannot activate the same area twice in one year. But you still can move INTO one of the areas you've already activated if, for example, you use Mobilize in one year to activate an area and use Strategize in a later season that year. But if you did that, those units that moved into the already activated area are also now stuck and cannot move (e.g. by Conquer) until the activation token is removed in the Spring.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
And it's probably worth noting that you can move THROUGH your previously-activated areas with later mobilize/conquer orders.

IE, if you have A|B|C, and B is activated, you could, with a future order, activate C, and move units from A, through B, and into C.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.