$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 80.83

5,415 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34.1% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Airfix Battles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie Question on Grenades rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Balding Badger
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!
I'm just starting on Scenario 2 and wondered if someone could help me with grenades. Is this a single die roll? If the AT is achieved are all target units destroyed? Sorry but finding this a bit confusing!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Paull
United Kingdom
HUNTINGDON
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

When your Unit uses grenades, you choose either HE[5+] or AT(1), but not both. You use HE against infantry and Soft Skinned targets, and AT against armoured targets.

When used against infantry or Soft Skinned targets, grenades have HE[5+] effect. This means that you count the number of targets in the target square and roll that many dice. Each 5 or 6 is a hit. The other advantage of grenades is that the targets get no Cover Save, so grenades are very good against large squads in Square Cover.

Grenades are not affected by the number of men in the Unit that is throwing them, so even one man with grenades can take on a suitable target.

When used against armour, you use just 1 dice, needing a 5 or 6 to hit; then you roll for penetration as normal (see p14 of the rules). If you use grenades against the flank or rear of an armoured vehicle, they're more effective: 1 extra dice versus flank, 2 extra dice versus rear. So infantry need to get behind tanks if possible.

Alan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Balding Badger
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Alan,

That's really clear and very helpful. Much appreciated!

Regards

David
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.