$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 67.97

4,747 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.9% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Christopher Holland
United States
Belle Mead
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the answer to this question is "NO", but I needed confirmation. There is still a question regarding this in our group. I think the following rule from the FAQ proves my point.

BATTLE REGIONS
Unless explicitly stated on a skill/card/
structure/etc., Battle Regions may not
be affected. Treat them as “locked” for all
movement/tokens/etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
With rules as written, technically a battle region with a human control marker would be counted by Occupation. Because control does not change until the Battle phase, after resolving the first objective.

That said Portal has already changed the rules a few times, so we can't be sure unless they say explicitly yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Holland
United States
Belle Mead
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jmathias wrote:
With rules as written, technically a battle region with a human control marker would be counted by Occupation. Because control does not change until the Battle phase, after resolving the first objective.

That said Portal has already changed the rules a few times, so we can't be sure unless they say explicitly yes.


Yeah, I am hoping for a ruling from them on this one. They definitely still control it. But based on how I interpret the FAQ is that it wouldn't count since the region is "locked down". But I could see how it could go either way.

I'm playing a few 2 player games tonight, taking turns with Humans and Machines. Machines have come close, but lost due to some poor decisions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A battle region is only locked down from being affected (having it's state changed), you can't add to or subtract from the Battle Region, unless a skill specifically says it can.

Occupation doesn't change state, it checks state.

A battle region's control state doesn't change until the battle phase, after it's control objective resolves, which happens in Battle Token order.

So if the Human's control token is in Battle Region 2, that control does not change until Battle Phase, Battle 2, Control Objective resolution is complete.

Which would mean that when occupation triggers, during the action round, on a Human players turn, it would check for regions containing a Human control marker, the "state" of the region, aside from control or not controlled is not checked by Occupation.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is my impression that you do count it. Lets see what our almighty Grant says

I SUMMON GRANT RODIEK!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi -- Not ignoring this thread. Will answer shortly.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Muemmelmann wrote:


Not quite. I subscribe and I see every thread. I've been watching it for 8 hours now
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you score these.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.