$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 114.58

7,000 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
44.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sheriff of Nottingham» Forums » Rules

Subject: [Phase 1: Market Phase] IDrawing from the main deck rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
alvin atillo
msg tools
just a question to clarify our argument about Phase 1: market phase

if i want to draw from the main deck, can i do it WITHOUT drawing from any discard pile?

on the rule book, it states that:
"When you draw cards, you can take them from the top of
either discard pile or the draw pile
. Yes, this means that if you
really want the third card down in a discard pile, you have to
draw the two on top of it first"

but the next paragraph now says:
"You must always draw the cards you want from the discard
piles before drawing any cards from the draw pile.
You
cannot take some cards from the draw pile, and then decide
to take cards from the discard piles."

...meaning, if i want to draw my cards from the main deck (facedown), i should AT LEAST draw one from either discard piles right?

Thanks for the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Hostetler
United States
Warminster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
albenokskie wrote:
just a question to clarify our argument about Phase 1: market phase

if i want to draw from the main deck, can i do it WITHOUT drawing from any discard pile?

on the rule book, it states that:
"When you draw cards, you can take them from the top of
either discard pile or the draw pile
. Yes, this means that if you
really want the third card down in a discard pile, you have to
draw the two on top of it first"

but the next paragraph now says:
"You must always draw the cards you want from the discard
piles before drawing any cards from the draw pile.
You
cannot take some cards from the draw pile, and then decide
to take cards from the discard piles."

...meaning, if i want to draw my cards from the main deck (facedown), i should AT LEAST draw one from either discard piles right?

Thanks for the help.


No, you can draw ONLY from the draw pile if you like. The rules just mean that if you WANT to take any from the discard piles you have to do that FIRST. You can't take from the discard pile once you've taken from the draw pile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Dean
Australia
Earlwood
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
NO. It only means that if you ARE going to take cards from the discard pile(s) than they are the cards you must pick first...than you take the remaining cards form the centre, facedown deck.

If you want to take ALL your picks from the centre pile that is fine. No need to worry about the discard piles.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alvin atillo
msg tools
hmmm i see.

coz as i understand it by reading both paragraphs in relation to each other, and the 2nd paragraph was written like this on the rulebook:

"You must always draw the cards you want from the discard
piles before drawing any cards from the draw pile. You
cannot take some cards from the draw pile, and then decide
to take cards from the discard piles."

for me, it says that if i want to draw cards from the main deck, i MUST draw from the discard pile first. otherwise, there is no point on emphasizing on those two words.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 953292. albenokskie
  • 1d10 =
  • (9) =
  • 9
  • Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:49 am
Confusing Manifestation
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
albenokskie wrote:
hmmm i see.

coz as i understand it by reading both paragraphs in relation to each other, and the 2nd paragraph was written like this on the rulebook:

"You must always draw the cards you want from the discard
piles before drawing any cards from the draw pile. You
cannot take some cards from the draw pile, and then decide
to take cards from the discard piles."

for me, it says that if i want to draw cards from the main deck, i MUST draw from the discard pile first. otherwise, there is no point on emphasizing on those two words.

There is nothing in that paragraph that stops you from declaring that you want zero cards from the discard piles, then drawing however many you want from the draw pile. The emphasis is there to confirm what is said in the next sentence - that once you take cards from the draw pile, you can't then take any from the discard piles.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Hostetler
United States
Warminster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
albenokskie wrote:
hmmm i see.

coz as i understand it by reading both paragraphs in relation to each other, and the 2nd paragraph was written like this on the rulebook:

"You must always draw the cards you want from the discard
piles before drawing any cards from the draw pile. You
cannot take some cards from the draw pile, and then decide
to take cards from the discard piles."

for me, it says that if i want to draw cards from the main deck, i MUST draw from the discard pile first. otherwise, there is no point on emphasizing on those two words.


The key words here being "the cards that you want"... if you dont' want any from the discard pile you don't have to take any.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.