$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 81.72

5,460 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34.4% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Eric Harman
United States
Ontario
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
My question is; do you roll to hold back the darkness during a gunslinger challenge?

The rules are vague, saying both that "all other action pauses"
And also that "your roll counts as your turn"

What do you think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vadim Golembo
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is holding back Darkness an action or is it done at the start of your turn?
I forget how we played it as it's been a while since we faced the Gunslinger Challenge.

I don't think we rolled for Darkness as we rationalized the challenge happening outside of time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Harman
United States
Ontario
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
N0mE wrote:
Is holding back Darkness an action or is it done at the start of your turn?
I forget how we played it as it's been a while since we faced the Gunslinger Challenge.

I don't think we rolled for Darkness as we rationalized the challenge happening outside of time.


It's done at the beginning of the round.
But.. I dunno, I kinda feel like the whole challenge is supposed to happen in one round...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Jurney
United States
Tooele
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played that everything stops and nothing happens until the challenge is over.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. C.
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played that everything stopped the first time we played the challenge. Then in correspondence it was pointed out to me the rules reference's to "turn" so a HBTD roll would be required at the begining of each turn.

I don't think its very well worded and seems we are not the only one's to have fallen fall in to the "all action stops" preface trap.

By all other action pauses we concluded this means the exclusion of all other threats / events, but not the begining of the turn HBTD. going forward we shall play it this way...

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Tremblay
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mb

How do you folks feel about the challenge.
I have the Undead Gunslinger but have yet to be challenged.
I have heard a review where the reviewer thought it did not work well and really stopped the pacing .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
what is the full wording of the undead challenge?
is it a unit ability or how is it activated?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Harman
United States
Ontario
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The challenge is an encounter.
It's a sequence of opposed rolls between the posse and the Gunslinger.

I like it, but it does slow the game down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Harman
United States
Ontario
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Angelsenior wrote:
what is the full wording of the undead challenge?
is it a unit ability or how is it activated?


Also: the encounter card itself has very little text on it. The deluxe box has a rules insert and card that both explain the challenge rules in detail.

Its more information than could easily be written here (especially with my phone)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.