$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 56.66

4,121 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
26% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Legendary: A Marvel Deck Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Organised Crime Wave rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicholas Steer
msg tools
Came across a situation last night while playing this scheme.

Since all Maggia Goons have "Ambush: play the next from the Villian deck" what happens if a Maggia Goon is the last card of the deck? Does the game end there as a draw?
Or does the goon stop there and you get a chance to finish off the mastermind?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Here's the wording from the manual, p. 16:

Upper Deck wrote:
Running out of Cards in the Hero Deck or Villain Deck

If either of these decks runs out of cards before the Scheme is completed, finish the turn, and then the players have successfully survived the Scheme, but they didn’t catch the Mastermind. As a result, the game is a draw between good and evil. The player with the most Victory Points wins an individual victory. Be sure to get the Mastermind next time!


So, yep! A draw.

EDIT: Read below.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TheUbiquitous wrote:
Here's the wording from the manual, p. 16:

Upper Deck wrote:
Running out of Cards in the Hero Deck or Villain Deck

If either of these decks runs out of cards before the Scheme is completed, finish the turn, and then the players have successfully survived the Scheme, but they didn’t catch the Mastermind. As a result, the game is a draw between good and evil. The player with the most Victory Points wins an individual victory. Be sure to get the Mastermind next time!


So, yep! A draw.


This don't really apply since when you draw the last card that is when you are supposed to finish the turn. The question was, essentially, what happens when you need to draw a card from the villain deck and there is none?
Your answer may be correct, but it would be nice if the designer could answer this question specifically.

In card games there is normally a huge difference between running out of cards and needing to draw a card that isn't there.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Forgive me, I didn't even read what I posted.

As for errata, it exists. https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/92138/unofficial-collecte...

Quoting from it, emphases added:

Q: If the players play the last card from the Villain Deck (assuming it does not fulfill an Evil Wins condition of the current scheme) and then defeat the final Mastermind Tactic that turn does the game end in a draw or do the players pull off a last turn victory?

A: The players achieve a last turn victory. Playing the last card from the Villain deck means that at the end of that turn the game will end in a draw unless the players can pull off a victory before the end of the turn, which defeating the final Mastermind Tactic triggers immediately.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/11047741#11047741) – Devin Low

and:

Interacting with your deck when you have no deck: If a card tells you to interact with your deck in any way (KO, draw, reveal, look at, etc.) and your deck is empty or becomes empty while resolving its text and you still need to interact with more cards from your deck, immediately reshuffle your discard pile and continue carrying out the effect. If you do not have any cards in your discard pile either (all your cards are in your hand or in play) then you would not have any cards on which to carry out the effect.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14669026#14669026) and
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12910208#12910208) – Devin Low

Extrapolating, albeit with a bit of induction, you have the rest of that very turn but no longer to defeat the Mastermind the remaining times.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TheUbiquitous wrote:
Forgive me, I didn't even read what I posted.

As for errata, it exists. https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/92138/unofficial-collecte...

Quoting from it, emphases added:

Q: If the players play the last card from the Villain Deck (assuming it does not fulfill an Evil Wins condition of the current scheme) and then defeat the final Mastermind Tactic that turn does the game end in a draw or do the players pull off a last turn victory?

A: The players achieve a last turn victory. Playing the last card from the Villain deck means that at the end of that turn the game will end in a draw unless the players can pull off a victory before the end of the turn, which defeating the final Mastermind Tactic triggers immediately.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/11047741#11047741) – Devin Low

and:

Interacting with your deck when you have no deck: If a card tells you to interact with your deck in any way (KO, draw, reveal, look at, etc.) and your deck is empty or becomes empty while resolving its text and you still need to interact with more cards from your deck, immediately reshuffle your discard pile and continue carrying out the effect. If you do not have any cards in your discard pile either (all your cards are in your hand or in play) then you would not have any cards on which to carry out the effect.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14669026#14669026) and
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12910208#12910208) – Devin Low

Extrapolating, albeit with a bit of induction, you have the rest of that very turn but no longer to defeat the Mastermind the remaining times.


Thanks! I think I might have already read that a while back. blush
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.