$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 114.83

7,011 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
44.2% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: US Advise can Rangers / irregulars be already active? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Myles Carey

Seattle
Washington
msg tools
Can already active Rangers / irregulars remove enemy pieces. 4.2.1

I assume so but cannot find it explicitly stated in rules.

Thanks
Myles
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Jordan
Netherlands
Wassenaar
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I do not think so. If you read carefully, 4.2.1 You have to activate one underground irregular or ranger to remove enemy pieces.

Once activated, you have to use the ARVN's transport action to prepare Rangers for Raid again.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Myles Carey

Seattle
Washington
msg tools
I agree it is specified activate, but it might be intent of rules that it is implied that already active can perform removal - 4.2.1 3rd bullet.

Raid and transport have nothing to do with advise, where does it mention raid or transport?

Thanks,
Myles
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Seanmyles wrote:
I agree it is specified activate, but it might be intent of rules that it is implied that already active can perform removal - 4.2.1 3rd bullet.

There is no such implication, much less intent. Read the text in 4.2.1 3rd bullet again:

"Activate 1 Underground Irregular or Ranger there to remove 2
enemy pieces. Bases may only be removed once no other enemy
pieces are there. Tunneled Bases (1.4.4) may not be removed
(Underground Guerrillas may)."
(emphasis added)

The rule explicitly states that the Irregular or Ranger you Activate to use this bullet must be Underground.

Quote:
Raid and transport have nothing to do with advise, where does it mention raid or transport?

Transport turns Rangers Underground so you can use them with Advise or Raid.

Regards,
Oerjan
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Myles Carey

Seattle
Washington
msg tools
Got it - thanks everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Since you can pull pieces from the map to train. It is an easy, and free, way for the US to make their irregulas underground again. Just be aware that you cannot Advise in a space that you train that turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.