$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 111.78

6,876 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
43.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Game 2 - Relashio card question - ANSWERED rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
mbmbmbmbmb
Ref the card



If you do not have an Item card, must you lose the 2 heart or can you choose the no effect option ?

Edit: Answered below.

You must lose an item, or lose 2 ❤️
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Game 2 - Relashio card question
Not an official answer, but the standard rule in most board games is that "must" implies you have to do one or the other. If one is not an option, the other is required.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Sexton
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mb
Re: Game 2 - Relashio card question
Pretty sure you have to lose the hearts if you don't have an item to discard.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bubba P
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Game 2 - Relashio card question
oi_you_nutter wrote:

Ref the card



If you do not have an Item card, must you lose the 2 heart or can you choose the no effect option ?

The answer is on the card...you choose one of the two options. There is no third option of "nothing happens".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Game 2 - Relashio card question

The card wording is poor, if it said "All Heroes must either discard an item, or lose 2 heart' then the choices are clear.

Say I chose to discard an Item, but as I do not have any items, it's no effect.

It's a weasely choice, but the rules do not say must, they just say to apply the card effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Webster
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Game 2 - Relashio card question
If you can't or won't discard an item then lose 2 hearts
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Goertz
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
NA NA NA NA . . .
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Game 2 - Relashio card question
My play group has been going with you can choose even if you cannot fulfill the penalty.

The issue is both choices have a loophole that you may not be able to pay the cost (either you do not have an item or maybe you are at 1 health). since the card does not read as "Discard an item. If you cannot discard, lose up to 2 health" there is leniency in each groups decision.

Those more experienced with deck-builders will see this type of open interpretation as a common mistake in first-time deck-building games which means it is up to your group to decide how you wish to play it (pending a direct decision from the designer).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Wolf
United States
Carlsbad
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Re: Game 2 - Relashio card question
BenJazz wrote:
My play group has been going with you can choose even if you cannot fulfill the penalty.

The issue is both choices have a loophole that you may not be able to pay the cost (either you do not have an item or maybe you are at 1 health). since the card does not read as "Discard an item. If you cannot discard, lose up to 2 health" there is leniency in each groups decision.

Those more experienced with deck-builders will see this type of open interpretation as a common mistake in first-time deck-building games which means it is up to your group to decide how you wish to play it (pending a direct decision from the designer).


If you do not have an Item to discard, you must choose the other option, and lose 2 HEALTH.

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Game 2 - Relashio card question
nethershadow wrote:
BenJazz wrote:
My play group has been going with you can choose even if you cannot fulfill the penalty.

The issue is both choices have a loophole that you may not be able to pay the cost (either you do not have an item or maybe you are at 1 health). since the card does not read as "Discard an item. If you cannot discard, lose up to 2 health" there is leniency in each groups decision.

Those more experienced with deck-builders will see this type of open interpretation as a common mistake in first-time deck-building games which means it is up to your group to decide how you wish to play it (pending a direct decision from the designer).


If you do not have an Item to discard, you must choose the other option, and lose 2 HEALTH.

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly


Thanks for clarifying.
Tim
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Chien
United States
Rancho Cucamonga
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BenJazz wrote:
My play group has been going with you can choose even if you cannot fulfill the penalty.

The issue is both choices have a loophole that you may not be able to pay the cost (either you do not have an item or maybe you are at 1 health). since the card does not read as "Discard an item. If you cannot discard, lose up to 2 health" there is leniency in each groups decision.

Those more experienced with deck-builders will see this type of open interpretation as a common mistake in first-time deck-building games which means it is up to your group to decide how you wish to play it (pending a direct decision from the designer).

Except that the Golden Rule #1 with cooperative games is that you should pick whichever interpretation of the rules makes it harder for the players.

99% of the time, when the designer answers, the harder interpretation was correct...just as it was in this case.

Cameron
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.