$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 105.96

6,615 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Istanbul: Letters & Seals» Forums » Rules

Subject: Q: Double Encounter possible due to the Encounter Bonus Card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Russell Howell                (What's Right?) (What's Wrong?)        
United States
Canoga Park
California
flag msg tools
Brought to you by Zik Zak
badge
Brought to you by Zik Zak
mbmbmbmbmb
Good morning everyone!

We ran into a situation the other day that we believe created a double encounter situation. A player played the Encounter Bonus Card:

page 4 wrote:
Use the Governor, Smuggler, Courier, or Coffee Trader (in the “Great Bazaar” variant) and pay the cost. Then roll the dice to determine the new position of that token.


once they had moved to a space. They utilized the Courier on a completely different tile, rolled the dice, and the Courier landed on the tile that the player was currently on and of which he had not yet taken its action.

1) Could that player then have an encounter with the Courier again during the Encounter phase of the turn, or
2) would the Courier have to have been on the tile at the beginning of the turn?

We ruled that they could encounter the Courier again as they were on the space during the Encounter phase.

Just wondering if there is the possibility for an official ruling as there is no mention that the piece needs to be on the tile at the beginning of the turn for them to be encountered.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
admin
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure, that seems legal. They could even use the card before they move, then move to where the encounter cylinder ended up. Seems like part of the advantage of that bonus card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Bruhn
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
badgeguy wrote:
Good morning everyone!

We ran into a situation the other day that we believe created a double encounter situation. A player played the Encounter Bonus Card:

page 4 wrote:
Use the Governor, Smuggler, Courier, or Coffee Trader (in the “Great Bazaar” variant) and pay the cost. Then roll the dice to determine the new position of that token.


once they had moved to a space. They utilized the Courier on a completely different tile, rolled the dice, and the Courier landed on the tile that the player was currently on and of which he had not yet taken its action.

1) Could that player then have an encounter with the Courier again during the Encounter phase of the turn, or
2) would the Courier have to have been on the tile at the beginning of the turn?

We ruled that they could encounter the Courier again as they were on the space during the Encounter phase.

Just wondering if there is the possibility for an official ruling as there is no mention that the piece needs to be on the tile at the beginning of the turn for them to be encountered.
You played it correctly!
There is no mention that the piece needs to be on the tile at the beginning of the turn because it doesn't has to.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.