$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 131.69

7,731 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules about Death Star in combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Chapuis
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Im confused about the Death Star in space combat.

-The rules say the Imperial play cannot retreat in the Death Star is in the system
-The Death Star can not take Damage

So if the Imperial player moves a Death Star into combat, and the Rebel player doesnt have a "death Star Plans" card, doesnt that mean that there is no way for the Rebel player to win the combat? The Death Star would get to keep rolling dice and destroying Rebel units, and the Rebels only option would be to retreat? Or am I missing something?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Chapuis3matthew wrote:
So if the Imperial player moves a Death Star into combat, and the Rebel player doesnt have a "death Star Plans" card, doesnt that mean that there is no way for the Rebel player to win the combat? The Death Star would get to keep rolling dice and destroying Rebel units, and the Rebels only option would be to retreat? Or am I missing something?

This is correct. Without the plans, the Death Star is invincible - the Rebels must retreat if they don't want to just get annihilated.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
there is no confusion, the death star is such a massive ship that destroying it conventionally isnt possible.

there might still be reasons for the rebels to engage it, for example just the time to drop ground troops on the planet to at least win the ground combat and deny the planet to the empire.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Chapuis
United States
flag msg tools
Angelsenior wrote:
there is no confusion, the death star is such a massive ship that destroying it conventionally isnt possible.

there might still be reasons for the rebels to engage it, for example just the time to drop ground troops on the planet to at least win the ground combat and deny the planet to the empire.


Our first game, so we weren't sure if we were understanding it correctly.

Thanks for the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dkchapuis wrote:
Angelsenior wrote:
there is no confusion, the death star is such a massive ship that destroying it conventionally isnt possible.

there might still be reasons for the rebels to engage it, for example just the time to drop ground troops on the planet to at least win the ground combat and deny the planet to the empire.


Our first game, so we weren't sure if we were understanding it correctly.

Thanks for the help.


There are very few circumstances where the rebels won't retreat after one round of combat against any force. Hit and run is the name of the game for rebels.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.