$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 108.69

6,738 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
42.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Grand Prix» Forums » Rules

Subject: Safety Zone when the affected car must move back rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Francis K. Lalumiere
Canada
Brossard
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
This is not entirely clear: when an event makes the affected car move back, is the safety zone established based on the position of the affected car before it moves back?
(That's what we assumed.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Horger
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
weishaupt wrote:
This is not entirely clear: when an event makes the affected car move back, is the safety zone established based on the position of the affected car before it moves back?
(That's what we assumed.)


You just need to follow logical principles. Resolve the event card first and then institute the Safety Zone. So if a car is moved back on an event, it is resolved. Then a Safety Zone is placed. Therefore it would be placed where the car is after the conclusion of the Event, not before.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francis K. Lalumiere
Canada
Brossard
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Jeff Horger wrote:
weishaupt wrote:
This is not entirely clear: when an event makes the affected car move back, is the safety zone established based on the position of the affected car before it moves back?
(That's what we assumed.)


You just need to follow logical principles. Resolve the event card first and then institute the Safety Zone. So if a car is moved back on an event, it is resolved. Then a Safety Zone is placed. Therefore it would be placed where the car is after the conclusion of the Event, not before.

Oh, we did. It's just that logic took us in the opposite direction.

We reasoned that the accident/event had happened on the space originally occupied by the affected car, and that that space should thus be the anchor point for the safety zone.
(Moving back represents loss in position due to the incident.)

But it's good to know that wherever the car ends up defines, in fact, the safety zone.
Thanks for the quick answer!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.