$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 48.84

3,663 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23.1% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: NVA March Bot Garrison Requirement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Wigdor
United States
Lake Hiawatha
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Quote:
March Troops and Guerrillas out of spaces, leaving behind only just enough Guerrillas then Troops to keep any NVA Control there and to keep 2 NVA Guerrillas or Troops in any space with NVA Bases. Leave NVA Guerrillas if possible, otherwise Troops.


My question is about the last sentence and how it applies to the first priority of creating a space with 4 Guerillas in Laos/Cambodia. Imagine Central Laos has an NVA base, 4 Guerillas, and 4 Troops. Southern Laos is empty and is the target chosen. What is the force that will March from Central Laos to Southern Laos?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You mean which of the two conflicting "possibles" take precedence - the one saying "Leave NVA Guerrillas if possible", or the one saying "until the space has as close as possible to 4 NVA Guerrillas"?

Good question! The garrison requirement wins here. If you have 2 Guerrillas to leave as a garrison, then you do that; it is even more important to protect the existing Bases than to build new ones, and Guerrillas are much better guards than Troops are.

Regards,
Oerjan
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Wigdor
United States
Lake Hiawatha
New Jersey
flag msg tools
OK, so if I have it right, in the above example, the NVA would March 2 Guerillas and the 4 Troops from Central Laos to Southern Laos, correct (confirming that the Troops go too)?

What if there are lots of Guerillas in the sending space? Which takes precedence: "leaving behind only just enough" or making the receiving space have "as close as possible to 4 NVA Guerillas?" In other words, if there is an NVA Base and 8 NVA Guerillas in Central Laos, does it send 6 Guerillas to Southern Laos, or just 4?

Thanks as always!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.