$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.47

7,470 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two Questions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Samuli Rask
Finland
Espoo
Espoo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

I have two questions.

1.
Tie Fighter has pilot skill 1 and X-Wing has 8

If Tie Fighter moves towards X-Wing and they overlapped, can X-wing move when it´s turn comes around? of is it stuck?

2.
What is the free actions?
I understand that evade, focus, barrel roll etc. are not free actions

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Test Your Luck
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
1) Yes, the X-wing gets to move when its turn comes around. If it bumps the TIE fighter, it will not go anywhere, but still counts as having moved.

2) A free action is an action from either an upgrade card or some other effect. It can even be an action already on the pilot card.

If the card says "ACTION: ..." then the ship must be able to perform an action (e.g. you can't perform the action if you've bumped or are stressed).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that a pilot cannot perform the same action twice in the same round, so getting a specific free action also means that you cannot perform that action in the action step.

This is why something like "perform a free boost action" and "perform a boot" are different. If you had the former you cannot perform another boost action, but if you performed the latter you can still perform another boost as your action. In the same way "perform a free focus action" and "gain a focus token" are different.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Allenberg
msg tools
Test Your Luck wrote:
If the card says "ACTION: ..." then the ship must be able to perform an action (e.g. you can't perform the action if you've bumped or are stressed).


Just a point of clarification. If you've bumped you only skip the "perform action" step of the activation phase. You can technically perform actions given to you by other means, which are typically the "free actions" in question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Agotha wrote:
1.
Tie Fighter has pilot skill 1 and X-Wing has 8

If Tie Fighter moves towards X-Wing and they overlapped, can X-wing move when it´s turn comes around? of is it stuck?


It will probably move.

Ships are allowed to fly through others. They are not allowed to land on others. If you can't fit your ship on the table at the end of its move, it goes to the last place along the strip where it does fit. It can be blocked all the way back to its original spot, but only if the entire path is covered.

Quote:
2.
What is the free actions?
I understand that evade, focus, barrel roll etc. are not free actions


Here's a helpful hint: every time you see the phrase "free action", read it as "bonus action" instead. (In my opinion, FFG should have used that term. It's clearer.) "Free" only means it doesn't count as the one "normal" action you take after moving.

If a card tells you to "take a free action", you can take any action available to you. Other cards are more specific, like a "free focus action" or a "free barrel roll action". In all cases, the word "free" only means the action is an extra one.

You can take any number of free actions per turn, but you can't use the same kind of action twice (not even if it's one free action and one normal action). You can take free actions if something prevented your one normal action (like bumping into a ship). You cannot take free actions while stressed.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.