$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 51.31

3,810 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
24% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Nippon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do all players earn points if no one has placed influence in a region? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Boris Dvorkin
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up in our first game and I was wondering if we handled it correctly:

Nobody placed any influence in Region 4 before the first scoring came up. It seemed to us, then, that the following was true:

1st place: Foreign companies, 12 influence
2nd place tie: all the players, 0 influence each

Is that correct? It seems to be so given the letter of the rules, but it's thematically wacky since it means we're being rewarded for doing literally nothing. Mechanically, it's usually irrelevant if all players get the same amount of points, but it becomes mechanically relevant if someone placed a boat in the region: they are technically tied for 2nd, so they earn their boat points.

Did we do right by the rules, or should common sense have prevailed?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nuno Bizarro Sentieiro
Portugal
Leiria
flag msg tools
designer
BRASIL - SPIEL 16 !!
badge
#NBS#
mbmbmbmbmb
You score Influence.
If your zaibatsu has no Influence (tile) in the region you score nothing.

Also Trains only add to Influence (+2 or +3). A train tile in a region with no influence (from your zaibatsu) is worth zero.

ENJOY Nippon !
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.