$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 54.92

4,021 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
25.3% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Labyrinth: The Awakening, 2010 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Facebook question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Curt Sellmer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Facebook wrote:

Play if Smartphones in effect.
Place 1 Awakening marker in up to 3 countries that already have an Awakening marker in or adjacent to that country.


Arab Spring Fallout wrote:

Simultaneously place 1 Awakening marker in up to 2 countries that do not already have Awakening markers and are not adjacent to countries with Awakening markers.


Given that Arab Spring Fallout specifies "Simultaneously", you could place Awakening markers in two adjacent countries as long as neither one has and Awakening marker or is adjacent to another country with an Awakening marker.

Does the lack of "Simultaneously" in Facebook imply that you could place an Awakening Marker in a chain of countries as long as the first country in the chain contains or is adjacent to another country with an Awakening marker?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Bender
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Another great question Curt.

Quick Clarification. Smartphones is an event that allows the play of Facebook. The marker is not placed in a specific country, but rather in the "Events In Play" box at the top right of the map.

The key rule in interpreting these two cards is 8.1.2 Simultaneous, as further amplified on page 28 on the back of the Awakening Rulebook. Essentially all Awakening markers would be placed simultaneously on the map based on the conditions that existed before any of them were placed.

So for Arab Spring "Fallout" the Awakening markers could be placed adjacent to each other since neither existed at that moment, but for Facebook they could not be "daisy chained" across the map since none of them have been placed until all of them have been placed.

Perhaps the word Simultaneous is superfluous on card #131 Arab Spring "Fallout" since rule 8.1.2 applies for all Event Cards and Operations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Sellmer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Great thanks. I didn't even notice that back of the rule book. But that is how we played it as it made the most sense that way.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.