$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 64.48

4,558 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28.7% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can something with 0 attack deal combat damage? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Hinkes
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is probably a simple one, but I just want to be sure.

For Deathtouch or anything else that triggers when it "deals combat damage", if it has 0 attack in combat, then it does not deal combat damage, correct?

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hinkes
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Building on that... if something has its damage absorbed by armor, has it dealt combat damage? (Deathtouch excepted, because it says so.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe so. Is there a specific example situation you're wondering about?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hinkes
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was thinking of Guardian of the Gates, but apparently that is wrong. Armor does not prevent combat damage I think. According to codexcarddb.com:

"If Guardian of the Gates deals combat damage to a unit with armor and the armor absorbs all the damage, his ability still triggers. — Sirlin"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Fanjoy
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Might of Leaf and Claw has relevant rulings.

http://codexcarddb.com/card/might_of_leaf_and_claw
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niccolò Ricchio
Italy
flag msg tools
think of it as "damaging armor in combat counts as combat damage"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeni Marinov
Bulgaria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Zeromus wrote:
[...] Armor does not prevent combat damage I think. [...]


Yeah, apparently that is the case; thanks to John Fanjoy for pointing out the rulings. I guess that means that part of the description of Deathtouch is just reminder text, which I'd put in brackets, but it's really a non-issue.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Hauge
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Zeromus wrote:
Building on that... if something has its damage absorbed by armor, has it dealt combat damage? (Deathtouch excepted, because it says so.)

The reminder text on Tiny Basilisk covers this explicitly, actually!
Quote:
Deathtouch (Combat damage this deals to units or heroes, even to their armor, kills them.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredrik Leander
msg tools
new user
Armor doesn't prevent units from dealing combat damage, correct.
It does absorbs any damage dealt before HP thus preventing damage chits.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And before it get asked, for Disease hero and similar effect, only combat damage that is not absorbed by armor gives out -1/-1 runes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.