$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 78.69

5,307 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
33.4% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Firefly: The Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Misbehave Clarification when attempting a goal rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Gershik
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Hi-

When one is trying to fulfill a goal that includes misbehaving, how is the Reaver Raid card dealt with for a player without River? Would you just use a killed crew action to put disgruntled on the captain, which will put him or her back on the ship, ostensibly restarting the goal attempt?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger BW
United Kingdom
High Wycombe
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Er, I don't see the problem. A Botch means "stop attempting this now, but you can try again next turn".

"Kill all crew" leaves you with the captain on the ship, alone and disgruntled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If you have Transport, you can choose to "Run for your gorram life", killing one crewmember (which could be your Leader, who would then pick up a Disgruntled unless saved by a successful Med check), and the attempt is botched.

The other option is "Hide in the Vault", which requires a Tech 5 check: failure = your whole crew is killed by Reavers and the attempt is (obviously) botched, Success = taking $1000 and the attempt is botched.

In any case, without River, the attempt is botched. Which means that you will have to retry the attempt on a future turn (which if it requires proceeding past multiple Misbehave cards, means you have to again attempt all of them, even if the botch came on the last card in your previous attempt)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Gershik
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Both options result in a botch. The only way to proceed is to have River and the player doesn't have her.

This is my second game so pardon the correct understanding of the rules. I thought once you start to misbehave you have to play it all the way through to completion.

Can the player just make whichever roll she chooses from the card and then start the goal over next turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Gershik
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
JayJ79 wrote:
If you have Transport, you can choose to "Run for your gorram life", killing one crewmember (which could be your Leader, who would then pick up a Disgruntled unless saved by a successful Med check), and the attempt is botched.

The other option is "Hide in the Vault", which requires a Tech 5 check: failure = your whole crew is killed by Reavers and the attempt is (obviously) botched, Success = taking $1000 and the attempt is botched.

In any case, without River, the attempt is botched. Which means that you will have to retry the attempt on a future turn (which if it requires proceeding past multiple Misbehave cards, means you have to again attempt all of them, even if the botch came on the last card in your previous attempt)


Thanks. I think I confused the fact that when you start a misbehave, you need to see it through to the end with being stuck with whatever misbehave card you draw. So the player can just suffer the consequences of the card and then restart the msibehave next turn with a different card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob
United States
flag msg tools
We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty.
badge
Ten percent of nothing is, let me do the math here, nothing into nothing, carry the nothin'...
mbmbmbmbmb
confusedgamer wrote:
Can the player just make whichever roll she chooses from the card and then start the goal over next turn?


As mentioned, you MUST have Transport to select Option 1. If not you're forced to go with a Option 2.

Either option forces you to restart from the beginning (again, assuming no River) on a future turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Gershik
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
So a botch at any stage of a crime not only ends the turn and you suffer the consequences of the botch but you also start the crime attempt over on your next turn (or whenever you decide to start the goal again).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Stratford
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger BW
United Kingdom
High Wycombe
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
confusedgamer wrote:
So a botch at any stage of a crime not only ends the turn and you suffer the consequences of the botch but you also start the crime attempt over on your next turn (or whenever you decide to start the goal again).
Yup, with a fresh set of Misbehave draws.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob
United States
flag msg tools
We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty.
badge
Ten percent of nothing is, let me do the math here, nothing into nothing, carry the nothin'...
mbmbmbmbmb
A Botch does not necessarily end your turn, it ends the "Work Action" associated with it. It does not prevent you from taking a second (though different) action if still available.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Gershik
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Sweet. Thanks so much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Maraya
United States
California
flag msg tools
If you disgruntle your captain instead of killing all crew, Do you get to include the captain on your next turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
confusedgamer wrote:
This is my second game so pardon the correct understanding of the rules. I thought once you start to misbehave you have to play it all the way through to completion.

Can the player just make whichever roll she chooses from the card and then start the goal over next turn?


All Misbehave cards have at least two options, and many of them have an "Ace".

For each card, you are free to choose any of the 2 (or 3) options, although you have to meet certain requirements to be able to choose certain options (you can only utilize the Ace if you have that item/crewmember. And in this case, you can only choose "Run for your gorram lives" if you have transport.

However, once you choose to pursue one option, you have to complete it (and face the consequences if you fail the test(s)).

For jobs/goals that require multiple Misbehave cards, you draw and work through the cards one at a time. If you successfully Proceed past one, you then draw and attempt the next one. But once an attempt is botched, or you draw a warrant (as a result of the Misbehave card itself), the work action ends.

If it was a botch, you are free to pursue the job/goal on a subsequent turn (assuming you still meet the requirements), but you start fresh on square one in terms of Misbehave cards.

If a Warrant was issued, the job card is placed in the Discard pile from that contact (and you lose any Solid Reputation that you had with that contact, plus if it was a job for Niska, you must then kill a crewmember)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
DMDesign wrote:
If you disgruntle your captain instead of killing all crew, Do you get to include the captain on your next turn?


You can't choose to disgruntle your captain INSTEAD of killing all crew.
If a result requires you to kill all crew, then that includes your captain, but captains can't actually be "killed", they are instead just returned to the ship disgruntled. The rest of your crew are still killed.

But yes, you can include the captain on any subsequent attempts after he or she is "killed"
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.