$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 70.92

4,904 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
30.9% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

U-Boat Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order of setting up the Tactical Map rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lipa LeChuck
msg tools
mb
I have another question regarding the order of setting up the Tactical Map.

So we've established in another thread that you need to draw a second Convoy card to determine the Special Conditions that will take place during this Tactical encounter. The question is, is this done before or after placing the U-Boat(s) on the Tactical Map? In the Rulebook, it seems as if Special Conditions are resolved after U-Boat placing (the paragraph is at the end of the Wolfpack section). But this seems a bit counter-intuitive...

What do you say?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fix benoit
France
flag msg tools
Take it simple, do it when you want, the result will be the same
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lines J. Hutter
Germany
Munich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Drawing the second Convoy card after placing you U-Boat and forming Wolfpack seems odd (although it's what the rules suggest).
This is because there are Convoy card effects that influence U-Boat placement (place in Wake Area) and Wolfpacks (cannot be formed).

Here's how I play running order to make sense (for me):
- Draw Convoy card
- Set-Up Ships (only)
- Draw second Convoy card. Resolve effect.
- Place U-Boat (as you wish or per card instruction)
- Roll for Wolfpack (if still allowed)
- Add Wolfpack Boats
- Reveal ships within range 2

(I inlcuded this in the helpsheet I postet yesterday)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lipa LeChuck
msg tools
mb
Lines42 wrote:
Here's how I play running order to make sense (for me):
- Draw Convoy card
- Set-Up Ships (only)
- Draw second Convoy card. Resolve effect.
- Place U-Boat (as you wish or per card instruction)
- Roll for Wolfpack (if still allowed)
- Add Wolfpack Boats
- Reveal ships within range 2

(I inlcuded this in the helpsheet I postet yesterday)


This makes the most sense to me, too. The fact that the rules have it the other way is exactly the reason why I posted the question. Anyway, I'll be playing this way in my games.

As to your helpsheet, it's a waste of paper... becaues it made me throw away any other printed references, help sheets, guides... even the official mounted help sheet with placeholders for the ship cards is now obsolete for me. Seriously, great work!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lines J. Hutter
Germany
Munich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LipaB wrote:
Seriously, great work!

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.