$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.47

7,470 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Lorenzo il Magnifico» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you place in a tower, but not take the card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nikolas Co
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you place a Family Member in a tower space, but not take the card? For example, if you can't pay the cost or meet the requirements? Or don't wish to pay the cost?

In other words, can you place a Family Member in a Tower's action space simply to prevent another player from taking the card, or just for the bonus?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geir Wahlquist
Norway
Drammen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't think so. The rules says you have to perform the action when placing a family member (page 4) on your turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikolas Co
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Olimar wrote:
Don't think so. The rules says you have to perform the action when placing a family member (page 4) on your turn.
So, for tower action spaces with bonuses as well as cards, can you take the bonus but not the card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Virginio Gigli
Italy
flag msg tools
designer
If you can't (or don't want) take a card from a tower you can't place your family member on it.
So you can't take only the bonus in the tower space (if present) and absolutely you can't prevent an opponent's move.


5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christina Crouch
United Kingdom
Tadley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And is the same for all action spaces - if you do not have the resources available to carry out the action, you may not occupy the action space? Are there any exceptions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Virginio Gigli
Italy
flag msg tools
designer
Only the towers are areas where you need resources in order to take perform actions (take cards).

All other actions (Market, Council Palace, Harvest and Production) don't need resources (Only in the Production area you can use resources in order to activate some of your building, but, also if you don't want or you can't do it, you may always gain bonuses from your personal bonus tile).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christina Crouch
United Kingdom
Tadley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect, TY.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.