$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 64.06

4,535 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28.6% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do Beginners pay for cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Murphy
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They keep them all for free. That way they don't need to spend their first few moments of the game determining what to keep for a long term strategy. I think I read that they are easier to play as well, so experienced players will be handicapped when playing corps against beginner corps.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Berent
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The beginning corporations also give you a production level of 1 across all six areas.

The other corporations:

1. usually start with less mega credits than the beginner corps
2. have to buy any of the 10 starting cards they want to keep
3. usually start with a production level of 0 in all six areas.

I've found this is a decent way to handicap the more experienced players vs. first-timers. Having said that, if you handicap yourself against someone that's a really good euro player, even if they've never played T.M. before, you might end up chasing them as they will really use that big starting lead to their advantage.

Up until now, I haven't even needed to break out the corporate era cards. Can't wait to give those a try. GREAT GAME
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Ardianto
Indonesia
DKI Jakarta - Jakarta Utara
flag msg tools
https://www.facebook.com/gopopnow
mbmbmbmbmb
So beginner players keep all 10 cards for free. This way it gives a handicap level to beginners against more experienced players?
So when they play cards they only pay the cost?
So in a way you can say that the handicap value is 30 credits (3x10 cards)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Narciso Jaramillo
United States
California
flag msg tools
Berentski wrote:
The beginning corporations also give you a production level of 1 across all six areas.

The other corporations:

1. usually start with less mega credits than the beginner corps
2. have to buy any of the 10 starting cards they want to keep
3. usually start with a production level of 0 in all six areas.


I'm pretty sure that according to the rules, (1) and (2) are true, but not (3) - i.e., if you're playing the basic game (without Corporate Era), everyone starts with production of 1, even the more experienced players who are playing non-beginner corporations and buying their starting cards. It sounds like that's intended to be enough of a handicap without also starting with no production.

10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave K
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Love 'em even if a few games get scuttled from time to time.
badge
Meow.
mbmbmbmbmb
notwebsafe wrote:
Berentski wrote:
The beginning corporations also give you a production level of 1 across all six areas.

The other corporations:

1. usually start with less mega credits than the beginner corps
2. have to buy any of the 10 starting cards they want to keep
3. usually start with a production level of 0 in all six areas.


I'm pretty sure that according to the rules, (1) and (2) are true, but not (3) - i.e., if you're playing the basic game (without Corporate Era), everyone starts with production of 1, even the more experienced players who are playing non-beginner corporations and buying their starting cards. It sounds like that's intended to be enough of a handicap without also starting with no production.



This was how I interpreted the rules as well. I didn't think it matters if you are using a beginner or specialised corp.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Örjan Almén
Sweden
Karlstad
flag msg tools
mbmb
all start with a production of 1 if the corporate era expansion is NOT included, and a production of 0 if it IS included. (and then normal corporation starting productions are added to this.)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
There seems to be some confusion about the Beginner Corporation Cards. Actually, they are just like ANY OTHER corporation. You start with what it says you start with, just like the others. The only difference is that you may choose to play with the Beginner Corporation (you don't have to randomly draw it to choose it), and there are 5 of them, so everyone can play it. Other than that, there is no difference.

That is why ALL players, no matter what corporation they are playing, start with 1 production of each resource in the standard game (WITHOUT corporate era cards), and ALL players start with 0 production of resources in a Corporate Era game. THEN you add whatever the corporation card says, and the Beginner Corporation card tells you to simply take the 10 cards for free instead of choosing and paying.

This gives Beginner Corporation players a boost, because they'll have a lot of cards and still a lot of money. However, they have no ongoing effect to help them along the way. The Beginner Corporation is included to help new players. The first time you play Terraforming Mars, you'll have little to no idea what to keep, so letting you keep all cards will prevent you from doing those kinds of mistakes first generation. Already after the first generation, you'll have a much better idea what to go for, and you're ready to participate in the research phase.
17 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
zach larue
msg tools
Lord_Aethan wrote:
There seems to be some confusion about the Beginner Corporation Cards. Actually, they are just like ANY OTHER corporation. You start with what it says you start with, just like the others. The only difference is that you may choose to play with the Beginner Corporation (you don't have to randomly draw it to choose it), and there are 5 of them, so everyone can play it. Other than that, there is no difference.

That is why ALL players, no matter what corporation they are playing, start with 1 production of each resource in the standard game (WITHOUT corporate era cards), and ALL players start with 0 production of resources in a Corporate Era game. THEN you add whatever the corporation card says, and the Beginner Corporation card tells you to simply take the 10 cards for free instead of choosing and paying.




So... in the standard game does Thorgate start with one energy production or two? Helion start with one heat production, three heat production, or four heat production?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In standard game, Thorgate starts with one energy production by default and an additional one from their corporation card, for a total of two. Likewise Helion starts with four heat production.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
O.Shane Balloun
United States
Bellingham
Washington
flag msg tools
I will play as the Atreides, Bene Gesserit, Emperor, Fremen, Guild, or Harkonnen.
badge
I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
mbmbmbmbmb
spartax wrote:
In standard game, Thorgate starts with one energy production by default and an additional one from their corporation card, for a total of two. Likewise Helion starts with four heat production.


Just leaving an express note that Lord_Aethan thumbed this answer: thus, it is correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that is correct
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.