$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 107.64

6,691 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
42.2% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mottainai» Forums » Rules

Subject: How exactly does the tie breaker work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Schneider
United States
Cos Cob
Connecticut
flag msg tools
The rules state, "In the case of a tie, the current player, or the player in turn order closest to the current player is the winner."

"The player in turn order closest to the current player is the winner."
Does that mean the next player after the current player in turn order?

In other words, assume a 3-player game. Player B just ended the game and had a final score of 19. Player A and Player C both had a score of 20.

If turn order is A, then B, then C, who breaks the tie and wins? Player A or Player C?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Z
Australia
Rockhampton
QLD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
C

is closest and next in turn order.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Bolyard
United States
Oak Grove
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you think about it, it makes sense for the win to go to player C in this case. Two reasons:
1. If player C was the start player, then all players have had an equal number of turns, and player C technically achieved the high score first.
2. If player C was not the start player, then he/she has had one fewer turn than A & B. And so player C still technically achieved the high score first, or at least has potential to score even more if given an equal number of turns (that is, one more).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dbolyard wrote:
If player C was the start player, then all players have had an equal number of turns, and player C technically achieved the high score first.

Mottainai is not a straight race game like Impulse, where scores only go up.

It could have been the case that, prior to B's last turn, A had a score of 29 and had been ahead of C throughout the game. In his last turn, B might have taken from A (Shuriken) something like Haniwa and cost A a lot of points.

C still wins in this case - even though he had been trailing A right up to the end.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Schneider
United States
Cos Cob
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Makes sense. Thank you all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Bolyard
United States
Oak Grove
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
gillum wrote:
dbolyard wrote:
If player C was the start player, then all players have had an equal number of turns, and player C technically achieved the high score first.

Mottainai is not a straight race game like Impulse, where scores only go up.

It could have been the case that, prior to B's last turn, A had a score of 29 and had been ahead of C throughout the game. In his last turn, B might have taken from A (Shuriken) something like Haniwa and cost A a lot of points.

C still wins in this case - even though he had been trailing A right up to the end.

I understand. I only wanted to convey the general point that more turns can potentially generate more point gain opportunities in Mottainai. This is true in most games despite it not being a pure race to victory.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.