1 Posts

Dead of Winter: The Long Night» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Dead of Winter: The Long Night Short Review rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stewart Lindstrom

Minnesota
msg tools
Whatever you think about Dead of Winter, there is no denying that with the right people, it is one of the most immersive, thematic tabletop experiences out there…or at least, that’s what I had heard.

That’s right, despite being very invested into the hobby, I had never once played Dead of Winter. Time and time again I was told “Play it!” and “It’s great!” but I just couldn’t justify spending $60 on it. You see, I’m a high school student. I have a very limited budget, and I have to think super carefully about which games to buy, because I only get to buy a few a year.

Last month, I bit the bullet. For over a year, I’d been considering purchasing it, and when I heard that the new expansion was a standalone game with upgraded components and new modules, I decided to make the plunge.

Components: The components to this game are super high-quality. The locations are made of thick cardboard. There are loads of tokens and standees, and the box art is just amazing. Seriously, the art in this game is SO GOOD! Fernanda Suarez is possibly the best artist in the board game industry currently. Her work in Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn is my favorite art in any game EVER, and in Dead of Winter: The Long Night, she certainly doesn’t disappoint. It’s dark, and it’s so evocative of the subject matter. So components? Easily a ten out of ten. But what about the game behind all that cardboard???