$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 114.58

7,000 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
44.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ceremonial Magic Dice Power Ability? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Seth Gregor

Wells
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Choose an ally in discard pile, add ally to hand, deal damage to your pheonix born equal to attack value?? How is that a good ability to use?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Rubinstein

Long Beach
California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Because you can play the ally again. Also, Jessa's dolls have zero attack, so they don't actually damage you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Gregor

Wells
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, just making sure this wasnt a misprint. Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
lowplayercount.com
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Cards are, by default, a one time use. If the unit dies, it's gone, especially allies (conjurations can come back). The Ceremonial power allows you to bring that ally back into your hand and play it again, but at a cost. For units with enter the battlefield abilities this can be especially powerful. Allies with 0 attack power and some kind of secondary ability are very good for this effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julien Grenier
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is pretty good to return 0 attack value units like the living doll and the anchornaut.
But you can also return a low attack value unit like the Fire Archer which doesn't cost much to put back in play and allows to deal 1 damage to an unit or Phoenixborn.

Also don't forget that you can react to the damage done to your Phoenixborn (if the damage is 1 or+) so it can be use to trigger Sympathy pain
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Fritz
msg tools
mbmbmb
It's a pretty neat ability:

You could even Redirect the damage from resurrecting, say, a Hammer Knight over to your Living Doll, then pay to send it over to the opponent's Phoenixborn!

Also, don't overlook the utility of using it to keep bringing a 0-attack unit like Anchornaut back to hand so you can discard it again to mitigate the effects of an opponent's Three-Eyed Owl.

On the other side of things, this makes "remove from play" cards like Fade Away particularly devastating to someone PLANNING to use Ceremonial dice to keep bringing a unit back. Once it's out of play...you're out of luck...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giovanni Cornara
Italy
flag msg tools
https://snipertroll.wordpress.com - https://shiftingmists.wordpress.com
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have life advantage over your opponent, the Ceremonial power allows you, if played at the right time, to recover an ally and keep that advantage: you take X damage and then deal those X damage to the opponent as well by attacking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.