$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 127.81

7,569 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Snow Tails» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving in the curve rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gert Breugelmans
Belgium
Vorselaar
Antwerp
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

I have a question concerning the game Snow Tails

Question goes as follows (check image for clearness).



​It goes about the red player.
When the red player wants in his turn to move 5 passes (speed) and 1 drift, where does he end?
He first moves 4 passes straight ahead AND wants to drift 1.
Will he be then 2 spots before green lande or 3 spots ahead of green lane?

Thanks in advance.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Patuxent River
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ozymanidias wrote:
Hello,
​It goes about the red player.
When the red player wants in his turn to move 5 passes (speed) and 1 drift, where does he end?
He first moves 4 passes straight ahead AND wants to drift 1.
Will he be then 2 spots before green lande or 3 spots ahead of green lane?

Due to the nature of the curve spaces Red would end their move two spaces ahead of Green. This is because the front edge of that space extends beyond space 4 so it is considered forward movement. To get to the space three spaces in front of Green Red would need to move one more space straight ahead before drifting.

Edit: If the Red player went to space 2 or 3, then drifted and then went straight they would end their move 3 spaces ahead of Green.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert M
United States
Greenville
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ozymanidias wrote:
Hello,

I have a question concerning the game Snow Tails

Question goes as follows (check image for clearness).



​It goes about the red player.
When the red player wants in his turn to move 5 passes (speed) and 1 drift, where does he end?
He first moves 4 passes straight ahead AND wants to drift 1.
Will he be then 2 spots before green lande or 3 spots ahead of green lane?

Thanks in advance.


If you go the 4 straight first then you will be 2 spots ahead of green, but you could drift from 2 in front of green and go forward from there and you will be at the 3 spot.

From 4 you have to go to the one 2 ahead since the spot advances past the front corner of 4, so the advance to the right takes you there.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 Lucky Texan
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
you're gonna take damage!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hardstaff
United Kingdom
Brighouse
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
If you move 4 forward and drift on the 5th movement you'll be 2 in front of green as the corner of that space is on the straight of the adjacent space. If you move 3 forward, drift on the 4th and then forward on the 5th you'll be 3 in front of green as the space you drift from and to are corner-to-corner.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.