$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 80

5,373 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
33.9% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: When a mission can no longer be completed... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Travis Bridges
United States
Nazareth
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Make no little plans; they have no magic to stir men's blood and probably themselves will not be realized.
mbmbmbmbmb
If the Empire sets aside a mission with a leader, and during the course of the game turn, the mission becomes unplayable/obsolete, what happens? Can they reveal the mission and discard it to gain the leader back? Can they pass and have the mission come back to their hand, with the leader available to challenge Rebel missions? Or is the card lost? Thanks for your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koolin
Netherlands
Veghel
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The leader gets back in the next round of play (refresh phase I think). For the mission I think you could leave it lying there without using it. Miracles might happen that it will become playable. If miracles do not occur the card is wasted anyway (even when not discarding it).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donagh Molloy
Ireland
Limerick
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The mission and the leader go back into your hand in the refresh phase.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's the rule covering this:

RRG - Refresh Phase Step 1 wrote:
• If a leader is still on a mission card, it returns to the leader
pool, and the card returns to its owner’s hand.


RRG - Command Phase wrote:
• A player may choose not to reveal a mission that he
assigned a leader to. At the end of the Command Phase,
any leaders that are still on mission cards are returned to
their leader pool, and the mission cards are returned to
the player’s hand without being revealed.


Note that the above quoted timings do conflict very slightly, on whether it's the start of the Refresh Phase or end of Command Phase, but it is clear from further context that they do intend this to happen at the start of the Refresh Phase (after resolving your optional Objective card).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
chicagometh wrote:
If the Empire sets aside a mission with a leader, and during the course of the game turn, the mission becomes unplayable/obsolete, what happens? Can they reveal the mission and discard it to gain the leader back? Can they pass and have the mission come back to their hand, with the leader available to challenge Rebel missions? Or is the card lost? Thanks for your help!

Is there a particular mission you are thinking about?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Craig
United States
Bellevue
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Any of the attempt against a captured leader would become unplayable if the rebels rescue that leader.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
kbclac wrote:
Any of the attempt against a captured leader would become unplayable if the rebels rescue that leader.

True, but that's never a permanent thing, since the Capture mission is a starting mission

I guess I assumed the OP was referring to a mission that is permanently unplayable, but that may have been a bad assumption on my part.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Büttner-Zimmermann
Germany
München
Bavaria
flag msg tools
Wiggle It!!!
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, how about "Superlaser online", and your second Death Star was just blown up?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witold G
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Almecho wrote:
Well, how about "Superlaser online", and your second Death Star was just blown up?


Good example... although not perfect. You can theoretically reshuffle a depleted project deck and build another Death Star.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.