$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 115.38

7,035 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
44.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can wonders be built on water? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Caught in a mechanism
Brazil
RJ
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule book says: "Once the wonder has been produced, the player places the wonder card faceup in front of them and places the corresponding wonder token in the outskirts of the city that produced the wonder."

I understand that water squares next to cities are also part of their "outskirts", so can wonders be built over water? Not very thematic.

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
fameros wrote:
The rule book says: "Once the wonder has been produced, the player places the wonder card faceup in front of them and places the corresponding wonder token in the outskirts of the city that produced the wonder."

I understand that water squares next to cities are also part of their "outskirts", so can wonders be built over water? Not very thematic.

Thanks in advance.


Your answer is in the very paragraph you quoted. Here is the full paragraph:

"Once the wonder has been produced, the player places
the wonder card faceup in front of them and places the
corresponding wonder token in the outskirts of the city that
produced the wonder. After building a wonder, a new wonder is
drawn from the wonder deck and added to the market. Wonders,
like limited buildings, may be placed on any terrain except for
water
and are restricted to one per city. A city may contain both
a wonder and one limited building."

Edit: This is from the rules that are found online which looks to be updated then the original printing.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caught in a mechanism
Brazil
RJ
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DoomTurtle wrote:
fameros wrote:
The rule book says: "Once the wonder has been produced, the player places the wonder card faceup in front of them and places the corresponding wonder token in the outskirts of the city that produced the wonder."

I understand that water squares next to cities are also part of their "outskirts", so can wonders be built over water? Not very thematic.

Thanks in advance.


Your answer is in the very paragraph you quoted. Here is the full paragraph:

"Once the wonder has been produced, the player places
the wonder card faceup in front of them and places the
corresponding wonder token in the outskirts of the city that
produced the wonder. After building a wonder, a new wonder is
drawn from the wonder deck and added to the market. Wonders,
like limited buildings, may be placed on any terrain except for
water
and are restricted to one per city. A city may contain both
a wonder and one limited building."

Edit: This is from the rules that are found online which looks to be updated then the original printing.

It is in the printed version, and I missed it. Silly me. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hannah
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We've always played a house rule that the Great Lighthouse can be built on water.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Santoro
Brazil
São Paulo
São Paulo
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer: no.
Long answer: not really.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
srhannah52 wrote:
We've always played a house rule that the Great Lighthouse can be built on water.

You try that out in real life and see what happens
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Kelly
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Hexachlorophene J. Goodfortune, Kidnapper-At-Large, and Devourer of Tortoises par Excellence, at your service.
badge
If you can read this, then this sentence is false.
mbmbmbmbmb
kungfro wrote:
srhannah52 wrote:
We've always played a house rule that the Great Lighthouse can be built on water.

You try that out in real life and see what happens


Thematically it would be on a small island (like the real Great Lighthouse).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Hoffman
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Peristarkawan wrote:
kungfro wrote:
srhannah52 wrote:
We've always played a house rule that the Great Lighthouse can be built on water.

You try that out in real life and see what happens


Thematically it would be on a small island (like the real Great Lighthouse).


Then it's built on land, not water.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Kelly
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Hexachlorophene J. Goodfortune, Kidnapper-At-Large, and Devourer of Tortoises par Excellence, at your service.
badge
If you can read this, then this sentence is false.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but at the scale of the Civilization map it would be a water space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.