$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 101.92

6,430 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
40.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Viral Enhancers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jordan Booth
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wanted a quick clarification on Viral Enhancers (#074).
Do you have to collect the same type of resource as the placed tag? Or can I, for instance, place a plant tag and gain a microbe?

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Vahlenkamp
Germany
Huerth
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to place the resource you gain from Viral Enhancer on the card just played, so when playing a Plant-tag, you normaly have no choice then to take a Plant-resource, as there is no card that collects plants on it. With the Microbe- and Animal-tag you gain a corresponding resource, as I could not find a card that has microbe-tag and collects animals and vice versa.
But you are always free to take a plant when playing a Microbe- or Animal-tag.

Hope this helps.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enoch Fryxelius
msg tools
IgrajemChef wrote:
You have to place the resource you gain from Viral Enhancer on the card just played, so when playing a Plant-tag, you normaly have no choice then to take a Plant-resource, as there is no card that collects plants on it. With the Microbe- and Animal-tag you gain a corresponding resource, as I could not find a card that has microbe-tag and collects animals and vice versa.
But you are always free to take a plant when playing a Microbe- or Animal-tag.

Hope this helps.


Dirk is right:
When you play a card with plant/microbe/animal tags, you choose:
- put a resource cube on the card you just played (if possible)
- or take a plant resource on your player board

Each tag counts, so if you play Advanced Ecosystems, Viral enhancer would let you take 3 plant resources (one for each tag). But since Adv. Ecosystems is not a card that collects resources you cannot but anything on it.

The thought behind Viral Enhancer was simple enough, but it was not easy to formulate the effect in an easy way!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.