$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 115.33

7,033 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
44.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: When you roll at least ... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Einar Örn Guðmundsson
Iceland
Reykjavík
Reykjavík
flag msg tools
mb
If the card says something like "when you roll at least [1][2][3], gain 2 stars - does that mean you have to roll 1, 2 and 3 in the same roll or can it be the combination you end up with after all rerolls?


When you roll [2][2][2] or more, add [Smash] [Smash] to your roll.
Do you keep the Smash ones even if you reroll all the 2's?

Your neighbors lose 1heart when you roll at least one [Smash].
Can this happen when you're rolling a single die to resolve secondary effects such as CAMOUFLAGE?

If you lose heart, roll a die for each heart you lost. Each [heart] reduces the loss by 1heart
Does this allow you to get rewards from other cards for each of these rolls?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
a.k.a. The Shire
badge
Go the Mighty Chiefs!
mbmbmbmbmb
It always refers to your FINAL dice.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
a.k.a. The Shire
badge
Go the Mighty Chiefs!
mbmbmbmbmb
Helgason wrote:
If you lose heart, roll a die for each heart you lost. Each [heart] reduces the loss by 1heart
Does this allow you to get rewards from other cards for each of these rolls?
No, this is a special dice roll only for the purpose of protecting you from damage. It has no other effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einar Örn Guðmundsson
Iceland
Reykjavík
Reykjavík
flag msg tools
mb
Then why does the Glossary say: Roll: the act of throwing the dice on the table.

Makes it seem like all those texts "when you roll a [2][2][2] you get" allow you to get stuff each time you perform "the act of throwing the dice".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einar Örn Guðmundsson
Iceland
Reykjavík
Reykjavík
flag msg tools
mb
We have played your way before (the rolls that can give you extra things) doesn't really depend on each roll... rather on the final outcome of those rolls (excluding anything that happend with rerolls). So whatever you have at the end of those rerolls is compared to the cards.

But the rulebook reads like you should get those extra things each time you physically do a dice roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From this thread
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/23074196#23074196
Official source answer:
Mattintheweb wrote:
anytime a card says "if you roll" and nothing else about rerolling, it means "if after you're done rolling and rerolling your dice…".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einar Örn Guðmundsson
Iceland
Reykjavík
Reykjavík
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks a lot for that
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.