Subject: castle Defence re-roll rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Groves
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi All

I'm just learning the rules to this game and would ask for some clarification on the re-roll rules when defending from a castle.

1. Having elected to choose Archers (Rank 2) for a re-roll in the first round of a battle do ALL dice thrown need to be re-rolled or just those dice that never scored a hit? There is an element of cake and eat, here. If 5 dice are rolled and only 2 score hits to perform a re-roll must I sacrifice the 2 hits to gamble on more than 2 hits or do I get cake and eat by retaining the 2 hits and just re-rolling the 3 misses.

2. Having elected for Archer (Rank 2) re-roll in round 1 can I elect cavalry (Rank 3) in round 2 or must I stick with Archers until the battle is resolved.

Thank you in advance for answers received.

Cheers
Dave
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
My take on this: you re-roll everything or nothing. And yes, you can choose a different unit type to re-roll in the second round of the battle, if there is one.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr ?
United States
Midwest
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed! Re rolling can be risky--you could actually score fewer hits! I too believe it is all of the dice....
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
David Groves wrote:

1. Having elected to choose Archers (Rank 2) for a re-roll in the first round of a battle do ALL dice thrown need to be re-rolled or just those dice that never scored a hit?

2. Having elected for Archer (Rank 2) re-roll in round 1 can I elect cavalry (Rank 3) in round 2 or must I stick with Archers until the battle is resolved.

1. Reroll all or nothing.
2. You can change what you reroll from round to round.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Groves
United Kingdom