$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 93.84

6,052 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
38.1% of Goal | 26 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Desert Fox Deluxe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Overruns rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Brown
United Kingdom
Stockport
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If a unit defending against an overrun is forced to retreat, is it eliminated?

I assume it is, as it can't retreat into the ZOC of the overrunning unit, however could I please ask for clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haggett
United States
Riverside
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question. It depends on whether the attacking unit is considered to be in the defending hex during the combat. 8.5 looks like it could be read either way; needs a short sentence to clarify.

My inclination is that the attacker pays the cost to enter the defender's hex +2 MP, but that the combat is fought from the adjacent hex. This would keep it consistent with other land combat, which is fought between units in adjacent hexes.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! OVERRUN IS NOT COMBAT...IT IS A FORM OF MOVEMENT BEEP! BEEP! BEEP!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haggett
United States
Riverside
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are plenty of games where that is true, but this isn't one of them.

Quote:
8.5 Overrun
Overrun is a specialized form of combat conducted
during movement. The moving force pays all
normal terrain costs to enter a hex adjacent to an
enemy unit, including the cost of entering its ZOC,
if any, then pays the full movement cost to cross
the hexside and enter the defender’s hex, plus two
additional MP. Suspend its movement to conduct
combat.





1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Middleton
United States
Laramie
Wyoming
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The hex being overrun is not moved into until after the combat is resolved.


You pay to move the attacking, overunning unit adjacent, then pay what it would cost to move into the attacked, overrun hex but don't move in yet.

Then you conduct combat and apply the results. The enemy unit being overrun can retreat as normal, because it's retreat route is not in the ZOC of the moving/attacking unit yet. Then the attacking, overrunning unit moves into the vacated hex and continues moving, if able.

Note, the retreating unit could be overrun again, if the unit can pay for it.

If the hex isn't cleared, the attacker stops movement and makes a morale check.

Also, the attacked unit can react move to an overrun, if able, by passing a morale check. If they move away, then the attacker just pays the normal cost to enter the now vacant hex, and not the extra 2 MP for overrun.


See 8.5E - Outcome of Overrun - which says when the attacker moves into the hex


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.