$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 117.99

7,149 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Guilds of London» Forums » Rules

Subject: How do cards 36 and 37 interact? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Van Auken
United States
Canton
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I play 36 then play 37 with 3 gold to hire 5 liverymen then double to 10?

I just started first turn of first game and have run into this. Seems very powerful.

*EDIT* Turns out we had nothing to worry about. This player (who is probably our best player) opened with this combo, then proceeded to finish last by a wide margin in a 4 player game.

Soooo...not so powerful.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Hensel
United States
Bryan
Texas
flag msg tools
Have games, Will travel
mbmbmbmbmb
That would have used all of his starting cards. So on his next turn with only two cards he likely did very little or nothing to get his hand size up to six cards which would have put him quite a bit behind in gaining control of any guilds.

I love the way Tony designed in powerful card combos but balanced them with having them cost so much to use.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.