$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 67.97

4,747 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.9% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Impulse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Draw 6 cards when you already have 8 in hand rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Connor
msg tools
Can you draw cards one at a time and decide after seeing the card you have drawn - not to draw it, thereby allowing you to pick (as long as it is in order) the 2 cards you like most out of the 6?

ex:
draw card, look, don't like it, toss it
draw card, look, like it, keep it
draw card, look, meh not bad but not great, toss it
draw card, look, don't like it, toss it
draw card, look, don't like it, toss it
draw card, look, don't like it, wish I had kept the 3rd card I drew, guess I will keep this one then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ejnro F
Sweden
flag msg tools
mb
No. As soon as you have ten cards in hand you will skip all instructions to draw more cards.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Right.

But if you are limited in what you can draw (e.g., you are drawing 6 that must be red or yellow), you can do this:

draw card, it's blue, toss it
draw card, it's red, keep it
draw card, it's green, toss it
draw card, it's blue, toss it
draw card, it's green, toss it
draw card, it's yellow, keep it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Funke
msg tools
Quote:
No. As soon as you have ten cards in hand you will skip all instructions to draw more cards.


Right, but I don't think that prevents what JonConnor84 is suggesting.

In his example, he never draws a card when he already has 10. He just chooses not to keep cards that he drew.

I think that that would be allowed, although I'm not certain. The instructions say that every part of an action is optional. I see two possible ways to interpret that:

1) You can draw a card and opt not to keep it.

2) Once you've drawn a card it's already part of your hand, and it's too late to undo it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Finazzo
United States
St. Louis
MO
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules seem to indicate you do not have the option to draw a card, look at it, then decide not to keep it.

Quote:
HAND LIMIT
You can never have more than 10 cards in your hand. Any time you would
draw a card into your hand and you already have 10, do nothing instead.

For example, if you have nine cards at the end of your turn when it is time
to draw two, then draw one card and stop. The only time the hand limit
is ignored is when exploring a new card on the Sector Map with 10 cards
already in your hand. At the end of the explore, you will be back down to
10.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Funke
msg tools
Frantic Ferret wrote:
Rules seem to indicate you do not have the option to draw a card, look at it, then decide not to keep it.

Quote:
HAND LIMIT
You can never have more than 10 cards in your hand. Any time you would
draw a card into your hand and you already have 10, do nothing instead.

For example, if you have nine cards at the end of your turn when it is time
to draw two, then draw one card and stop. The only time the hand limit
is ignored is when exploring a new card on the Sector Map with 10 cards
already in your hand. At the end of the explore, you will be back down to
10.


Good point.

If I wanted to be especially pedantic, I could argue that there's still a little ambiguity (Once you have picked up your 10th card, you are done drawing, but maybe it's possible to discard your 9th card before putting it in your hand), but if I'm being honest, your interpretation seems like the best.

Additionally, the other interpretation would probably give too much power to people who already have a lot of cards and minerals.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I do not understand where this discussion of discarding cards comes from.

This game does not provide for discarding hand cards at player discretion.

There may be a few action (e.g., Trade) that have you move a hand card to the discard pile.

The Draw action lets you take cards into your hand from the deck - if you have fewer than 10 cards in your hand already.

There is no provision by which you use the Draw action to take a card from the deck, look at it, and then choose to discard it.

It is true that some cards with a Draw action limit the cards that may be drawn (e.g., to specific colors or sizes). In these cases, cards drawn that are disallowed do get discarded (and do not go into the player's hand). But the player has no choice here: either the card is disallowed and is discarded, or it is allowed and goes into the player's hand.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.