35% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Benjamin Benson
United States
Pleasanton
CA
flag msg tools
mbmb
I am a school teacher and i teach American History and I would like to bring a couple games into my classroom but have them themed to meet the content area.

Have you done this? Even maybe just trying to re-theme a professionally designed game so you can get practice with design, you know the mechanics work but can you make them fit into a different theme which might require some modifications?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Last year, then 'moi' took a 16 "Bowling" game and turned this into a single d10-1d10-0 version. It was much faster from rolling the d10-9 along for nigh impossible with "Rolling a Perfect Game" as well.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I. Withnail
Canada
Montreal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I re-themed Lord of the Rings The Card Game ("Rings") for Buffy. My motivation was to create a decent Buffy game, that could be played co-op and solo. I chose Rings as the source because of its excellent rule set, large card pool to choose from, and emphasis on heroes and characters. I used the Magic Set Editor card template software to make the cards because it's easy to use, great for creating sets of cards with the same visual look, and can be customised to some degree. That locked me into the "look" of Magic cards, but that didn't bother me, since I play Magic sometimes and quite like that look. I created custom card backing images, printed off the cards and backing images on paper, and sleeved them with old Magic cards in the middle. I intended to get them more professionally printed as cards, but now that there's a Legendary Buffy game in development, I'll wait to see if that can scratch the same itch.