$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 107.11

6,667 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
42% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Treasure Lair» Forums » Rules

Subject: What is an encounter? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Belgium
Kuringen
flag msg tools
There are only two truths in the world: men are smarter than women and the earth is flat!
badge
"Ahhhhgr!"
mbmbmbmbmb
Action card says: discard 1 encounter in a quest. Does it mean a challenge? Can it be a hidden chalenge too?
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Twietie
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Nephilim wrote:
Action card says: discard 1 encounter in a quest. Does it mean a challenge?
YES
Can it be a hidden chalenge too?
NO


a) An encounter is a type of challenge card. You can recognize it by the blue markings. As demonstrated in the rulebook p.3.

b) With the mentioned action card you can discard only an open encounter (blue)challenge in a quest-column. You cannot discard a hidden challenge card with this specific action card. There is only one action card with the text: "Spend the 1 gold to discard the hidden challenge in a quest." That is the only card allowing you to discard a hidden challenge.
Why: you don't know what type the hidden challenge card is.

Even in the case you had a secret look at the hidden challenge with another previous action card and you know that it is an encounter challenge, you are not allowed to discard the hidden "known" challenge card by the action "Discard 1 encounter in a quest. Then gain 1 gold".
Why: "hidden challenge" is no the same as "encounter challenge"

I hope this is an adequate response to you.

Thank you for your interest.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.