$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 127.81

7,569 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Glorantha: The Gods War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two rules questions: VP timing and Blood Sacrifice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Mason
United Kingdom
Edinburgh
Midlothian
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Victory points from Buildings segment in the Council Phase is unclear whether all players receive their VPs at the same time or in player order. This is clearly important for anyone with a building on the Spike. E.g. Storm is 1st player, reaches 11 VPs causing the spike to shatter. Sky is 2nd player and has building on the spike. Does he still get VPs from that building or does it explode before he gains VPs.


Quote:
Players can perform this segment simultaneously, though it may lead to less confusion if a player sitting near the Victory track moves all markers on everyone’s behalf – just tell him your new VP total, and let him move the marker.
Victory Points from Buildings
...
Remember, the Spike immediately shatters, if a player reaches 10 VP at any time. This may cause a player later in the turn sequence to lose his upcoming VP for a building on the Spike.


Secondly, I'm wondering about Blood Sacrifice. It says in part:
Quote:
The presence of a Greater God or a Ziggurat protects that empire's
units & buildings from loss.

Does this mean that a Greater God protects all of that empire's buildings and units regardless of where they are or does it only protect units and buildings in the GG/Ziggurat's area.

Example. Thed is in Genert's Garden with a Storm shrine. Thunder King is in play (currently in inner Hell for argument's sake.) Does Thunder King protect the Shrine? A literal reading says yes but I'm not convinced this is meant to be the case.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John S

Fredericksberg
Virginia
msg tools
2nd question - from watching the 4-player and 5-player PnP games, it only protects units in GG/ziggurat area. If this were not the case, Chaos would rarely be able to use blood sacrifice by mid-game since most Empires would have either a GG or ziggurat already in play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jörg Baumgartner
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
VP aren't counted in player order, so IMO you first tally all VP, then resolve the Spike implosion.

It is possible to gain VP outside of the VP tally phase in the council phase, e.g. by playing a rune, and that might be what the text refers to as upcoming VP.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jörg Baumgartner
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Orlanthrex wrote:
2nd question - from watching the 4-player and 5-player PnP games, it only protects units in GG/ziggurat area. If this were not the case, Chaos would rarely be able to use blood sacrifice by mid-game since most Empires would have either a GG or ziggurat already in play.


Chaos usually won't have any difficulty to find buildings unprotected by a greater god. Removing these will require a couple of power points in the next action phase, and save Chaos one action. (If Chaos has problems finding such buildings, it has done a stalwart job keeping rival Victory Points down.)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Robinson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jorganos wrote:
VP aren't counted in player order, so IMO you first tally all VP, then resolve the Spike implosion.

It is possible to gain VP outside of the VP tally phase in the council phase, e.g. by playing a rune, and that might be what the text refers to as upcoming VP.


Except that the text talks about "later in the turn order" which makes no sense unless it is implying that VPs ARE counted in player order.

Which admittedly directly contradicts the earlier statement that all players can figure their VPs at the same time.

I expect that the final rulebook will be clearer!

Cheers,
Graham
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sandy Petersen
United States
Rockwall
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
I wrote the first-ever Lovecraft game.
mbmbmbmbmb
Council Phase timing:

First, before anything else happens, the First Player is determined.

Then VPs from buildings & fragments (only) are counted up, in player order. If the Spike explodes, a building on the Spike won't count for VP if that player's turn wasn't reached.

Note, however, that once the Spike has exploded, it no longer really matters what order VPs are added up in.

Then, in player order, the Council phase gifts and abilities are performed.

Runes cannot be played during the Council phase unless the game ends, in which case everyone gets a chance to play them for VPs. Also (new rule alert), Runes with 0 printed VP count for 1/2 VP at game end. Round fractions up.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sandy Petersen
United States
Rockwall
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
I wrote the first-ever Lovecraft game.
mbmbmbmbmb
Blood Sacrifice:

A Greater God protects his empire's units & buildings from being selected as a target of Blood Sacrifice in his Area.

EXAMPLE: Orlanth (Storm) and his shrine are in the Togaro Ocean, along with Malia (Chaos) and a Mermaid (Sea). Thed (Chaos) is in Genert's Garden with another Storm Shrine. Ragnaglar (Chaos) is on Teleos with yet another Storm Shrine. Blood Sacrifice triggers, so Malia & Thed seek victims.

Malia can't select Storm as a target, because of Orlanth's presence. So she kills the Mermaid instead. Thed CAN select Storm as a target in Genert's Garden, because Storm doesn't have a Greater God there. Ragnaglar could also select Storm as a target. However, Thed and Ragnaglar can't BOTH select Storm, because a single empire can only be victimized once with Blood Sacrifice. So Chaos decides to eat the shrine in Genert's Garden, and must spare the one on Teleos.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.