$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 54.64

4,005 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
25.2% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Tragedy Looper» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about naming roles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr. Octavius
Canada
Chilliwack
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To start with, yes I realize this question is needlessly pedantic. (It's kind of what we do )

At the end of the last loop the player's are given the chance to win by naming the roles of all the character's in the scenario. Do you only have to name the character's who actually have roles?
According to the rules player's point at characters one at a time and name a role, and the mastermind says 'yes' or 'no'. So, after correctly naming the (for example) 5 characters that had roles, are the player's technically suppose to point at the remaining characters and say 'no role'? Or after correctly naming the final role is the mastermind just suppose to tell the player's they won?

The situation we had was the player's mistook the main plot to be 'The Sealed Item' despite knowing who the 'Key Person' was. (Ya, we weren't really paying proper attention to that.) After losing the final loop the player's proceeded to correctly identify all the character's that had roles (Including the 'Key Person') and then guessed randomly at who was the Brain and the Cultist, as their abilities were never used because they weren't actually in the game. Seeing as all the real character roles were named first, who technically won?

On the one hand the players had the wrong plot entirely, which would normally be a loss for them. On the other hand, even with the players working off the wrong plot the mastermind gave up enough information for them to correctly guess every role that was actually in the game, which would normally be a loss for him. Maybe the only solution here is that everyone losses?

(Yes I know this silly, some groups enjoy friendly trash talking, we enjoy friendly rules technicalities after the fact.)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alvin C
Australia
Adelaide
South Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Maebon wrote:
After losing the final loop the player's proceeded to correctly identify all the character's that had roles (Including the 'Key Person') and then guessed randomly at who was the Brain and the Cultist, as their abilities were never used because they weren't actually in the game. Seeing as all the real character roles were named first, who technically won?

The characters that "don't have roles" have the role "person" which is what they should have guessed. If they knew there was no Brain or Cultist they shouldn't have guessed them. So, technically they lost because they didn't know the rules.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Z
Australia
Rockhampton
QLD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Agree with above.

All characters have the role "Person" unless otherwise specified.

As mastermind you should go through the characters, one by one and ask "What role were they?"

By having the wrong plot entirely, the players have lost.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.