$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 101.92

6,430 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
40.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 questions from a noobie... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jooles D
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
1) Probably obvious but best to check, when the Corp scores an agenda in a remote server is that server then available to install more agendas or assets (and hence benefit from the ice installed there) or must a new server be set up for all new installs? I'm assuming it's the former?

2) On page 13 of the rule-book it states, "A remote server can have only one agenda or asset installed in it at a time." But in the approach example on page 17 the remote server contains a rezzed asset and an unrezzed card next to it. What could this card be? An unrezzed upgrade perhaps?

Thx in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
msg tools
Pictured: Rags Raggerson, successful businesscat
mb
You are correct on both counts. You can re-use servers and it's an unrezzed upgrade in that example.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
St Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes, the former.
2) By definition it must be an upgrade. A server's contents (barring the unusual card-specific hosting quirks of things like Awakening Center, Worlds Plaza, and Full Immersion RecStudio) can be either:

One agenda plus unlimited number of upgrades
-or-
One asset plus unlimited number of upgrades
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jooles D
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks. So is installing an upgrade a 2 step (click) process then, 1 to install and the 2nd to rez? We've been playing it that you pay the install cost and install it rezzed all in 1 click. Is that wrong?

What are examples of upgrades better installed unrezzed than rezzed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
JoelCFC25 wrote:
1) Yes, the former.
2) By definition it must be an upgrade. A server's contents (barring the unusual card-specific hosting quirks of things like Awakening Center, Worlds Plaza, and Full Immersion RecStudio) can be either:

One agenda plus unlimited number of upgrades
-or-
One asset plus unlimited number of upgrades


To be pedantic - it could also be simply a collection of upgrades. Important because it means the first card to go into a remote server could be an upgrade!

Also worth adding that that's for remote servers only. Central servers cannot hold installed assets or agenda - any cards installed in the root of a central must be upgrades.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
St Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jooles wrote:
Thanks. So is installing an upgrade a 2 step (click) process then, 1 to install and the 2nd to rez? We've been playing it that you pay the install cost and install it rezzed all in 1 click. Is that wrong?

Installing a card (ICE, agenda, asset, or upgrade) costs a click, but not credits (unless it's a 2nd or more layer of ICE or other unique card effects apply).

Rezzing does not cost clicks--you pay the rez cost in credits at the moment you choose to rez it. This could be immediately after you install it, or any subsequent paid ability window. Consult the timing chart on page 32 of the rules.

Examples of upgrades you generally want to leave unrezzed would be ambushes like Cyberdex Virus Suite, or ones that have "surprise" effects like a Corporate Troubleshooter that can boost the strength of ICE at an opportune time. Other upgrades really have to be rezzed before they'll help you in any way, such as rez cost reduction effects from Amazon Industrial Zone or Breaker Bay Grid.

Thanks to Simon for the fine-point corrections to my previous post.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jooles D
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
JoelCFC25 wrote:
Jooles wrote:
Thanks. So is installing an upgrade a 2 step (click) process then, 1 to install and the 2nd to rez? We've been playing it that you pay the install cost and install it rezzed all in 1 click. Is that wrong?

Installing a card (ICE, agenda, asset, or upgrade) costs a click, but not credits (unless it's a 2nd or more layer of ICE or other unique card effects apply).

Rezzing does not cost clicks--you pay the rez cost in credits at the moment you choose to rez it. This could be immediately after you install it, or any subsequent paid ability window. Consult the timing chart on page 32 of the rules.

Examples of upgrades you generally want to leave unrezzed would be ambushes like Cyberdex Virus Suite, or ones that have "surprise" effects like a Corporate Troubleshooter that can boost the strength of ICE at an opportune time. Other upgrades really have to be rezzed before they'll help you in any way, such as rez cost reduction effects from Amazon Industrial Zone or Breaker Bay Grid.

Thanks to Simon for the fine-point corrections to my previous post.
Thanks. So having multiple unrezzed upgrades could be a means of diluting the chance of the runner finding an agenda also at that server, or drawing them into a run on a remote server with no agenda at all? Would the runner only be able to access one of these unrezzed upgrades or all of them on a successful run?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
St Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jooles wrote:
So having multiple unrezzed upgrades could be a means of diluting the chance of the runner finding an agenda also at that server, or drawing them into a run on a remote server with no agenda at all? Would the runner only be able to access one of these unrezzed upgrades or all of them on a successful run?

A successful run on a remote server results in the Runner accessing all cards contained in it (see 3.0 Access Phase on page 18, lower left).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jooles D
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
JoelCFC25 wrote:
A successful run on a remote server results in the Runner accessing all cards contained in it (see 3.0 Access Phase on page 18, lower left).
Ah, okay. Sorry, I just didn't have the rule-book accessible to check when writing. Makes sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Riley
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Nos operamur, te ludere
badge
"Life is more fun if you play games." - Roald Dahl
mbmbmbmbmb
Jooles wrote:
Thanks. So is installing an upgrade a 2 step (click) process then, 1 to install and the 2nd to rez? We've been playing it that you pay the install cost and install it rezzed all in 1 click. Is that wrong?

What are examples of upgrades better installed unrezzed than rezzed?


You have been playing correctly, sort of. You install for a click, and then you can pay and rez at almost any time later that there's a paid ability window, during a turn or a run. Rezzing does not take a click. This can mean rezzing a card after the runner has committed. Ice can only be rezzed when it's approached. Here's a quote from one wiki of rules:

"The Corporation may rez assets and upgrades almost any time there is a paid ability window. See the timing charts for more details. Ice, however, can only be rezzed as the Runner approaches it."

And here's a timing chart:
http://ancur.wikia.com/wiki/Timing_Structure_of_a_Run

This is important because you may have some upgrades that really only work if the runner has committed, such as Heinlein Grid, which makes it prohibitive to click through ice. If you wait to rez until the paid window at 2.3 in the chart I linked to, they're locked in and can't jack out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.