$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 64.74

4,572 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28.8% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Jay Wrobel
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Having played a fair bit of QMG, a great game for 6 players, we were excited to go and fight the Peloponnesian War. The game was a great experience and the new Prepare cards do add a lot. What was also nice is that the map starts empty but seems to fill all over, mostly b/c of Delian League and their pesky VP cards. Each side seemed to focus on different aspects: Delian in VP generation (which need to be countered since they can score each scoring round and it adds up fast), Corinth and their forcing discards (which crushed Athens), Sparta with the military machine (but need to be able to get into land battles) and Athens with their fleets and ability to reach a lot of places (though in our game they were forced to discard a bunch of cards so not sure on all of their play ability). The 4 players makes it a great game when 6 cannot be found for WW2.

In our game, it was interesting that Sparta had Corinth take Attica so they could build the city. Seemed like a good play but Sparta in the rest of the game did not fight a Hoplite battle (a few on the seas only including taking Athens) so Sparta protected Laconia up to Athens. The Delian set-up a bunch of scoring spots which they and Athens met. The Demos took an early lead and were threatening the in-game win when the Oligarchs took Athens and broke a few scoring set-ups and then road out the rest of the game with Athens cardless for many turns to win the game. Overall it was intense and seems like replayability would be greater than QMGWW2 given the card mix and Prepares (maybe Alternate Histories will do this for WW2).

On to some clarifications.

1. Supply. For some reason the Supply and Muster rules seemed confusing. If there is a simple rule of thumb, please pass it along. It seems that 1. land units support their land space PLUS all adjacent sea spaces without enemy units and 2. ships don't supply ANY spaces...and their only role is to act as a Unit when determining Hoplite placement.

1a. The other question is if empty sea spaces (with no land units supplying) can be crossed to determine more distant supply. Example: Can Athens supply a Hoplite in Perinthus if all seas in between are clear of any Trimeres and there are not enemy land units on any of the islands between Athens and Perinthus?

2. Bribery. Given the looseness in the rules (play anytime) of bribery the question came if you can just ditch a card each turn to keep a Bribery token to maintain units. At turn beginning, you pitch a card to add a Bribery token then use it to supply the unit that the current bribery token is covering. Seemed a little sloppy but thematically it makes sense if a Citystate is 'paying' a neutral, it would make sense that support could last multiple turns. If that is the case, what is the point to the having unplaced tokens in the bucket on the board?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Brody
United States
Woodstock
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Correct

1a. No(ish). Each sea space you trace supply through must be adjacent to a friendly City, Hoplite, or Bribery Token. To supply a Hoplite in Perinthus from Athens, you'd need aCity, Hoplite, or Bribery Token touching the Aegean (Going the most direct route)

2. Basically yes, you can just ditch a card a turn to keep the token in place. The reasons to store bribery tokens is to be able to use them on your teammates turn, to move cards out of your hand, and to protect against the Pirates card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Usticke
United States
Peekskill
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ejwrobel wrote:
1. Supply. For some reason the Supply and Muster rules seemed confusing. If there is a simple rule of thumb, please pass it along. It seems that 1. land units support their land space PLUS all adjacent sea spaces without enemy units and 2. ships don't supply ANY spaces...and their only role is to act as a Unit when determining Hoplite placement.

Sounds like you basically have it.

Quote:
1a. The other question is if empty sea spaces (with no land units supplying) can be crossed to determine more distant supply. Example: Can Athens supply a Hoplite in Perinthus if all seas in between are clear of any Trimeres and there are not enemy land units on any of the islands between Athens and Perinthus?

No, not without anything in between. The city in Athens supplies the Saronic Gulf and the hoplite in Perinthus covers the the Thracian Sea and Hellespont. You now need a hoplite or bribery token on a land space adjacent to either the Aegean Sea or Euboean Gulf to connect those bodies of water. For example, a bribery token on Samos would cover it. (And enemy land units on any islands in between would have no effect on this.)

Quote:
2. Bribery. Given the looseness in the rules (play anytime) of bribery the question came if you can just ditch a card each turn to keep a Bribery token to maintain units. At turn beginning, you pitch a card to add a Bribery token then use it to supply the unit that the current bribery token is covering. Seemed a little sloppy but thematically it makes sense if a Citystate is 'paying' a neutral, it would make sense that support could last multiple turns. If that is the case, what is the point to the having unplaced tokens in the bucket on the board?

There are a few reasons. Off the top of my head: If you'd like to use a bribery token for your ally. (For example, the Delian League could discard a card on their turn, put a bribery token in the bowl and then place it where Athens needs it on Athen's turn.) Or perhaps you have a useless card that you want to discard now but don't immediately need a bribery token. It makes sense to fill the bowl now for future use. Also, cards like The Ornaments of Athene Herself Contained Forty Talents of Pure Gold allow you to place bribery token in the bowl for future use.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Wrobel
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect! Thanks all! Look forward to the next game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.