$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 81.72

5,460 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34.4% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pyromaniac insanity card: no way to start fires? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Phillips
msg tools
If you gain this insanity card and there's no current fire on the board/ no way to make more fire, are you simply SoL? Likewise, I forget the exact wording, but if 6 rooms are already on fire do you instantly win?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Fleming
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You win if there are 6 rooms on fire at the start of your turn, so another investigator could put out one or more fires before then and keep you from winning. And yes, you must have a light source to start a fire so you could be out of luck if there isn't one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, this is an instant win card (but at the start of your turn, yes). Remember that you can use the Set Fire action with any Light Source, and I think it always gives you at least one Light Source in the starting items.

If it happens that all your Light Sources have been destroyed somehow, your best option is probably to feign that you have the card that means all the Search spots need to be gone for you to win with the others. Hopefully, you will find a new one in your search.

One final thing to always note is the card says 6 rooms are on fire, not 6 spaces. This means you need quite a bit of Fire to accomplish it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Sinnabell
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmb
...or steal a light source from a mate
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
impish1234 wrote:
...or steal a light source from a mate

Of course, you could perhaps try feigning having the card that requires you to have 6 items at the end first. You might be able to get the 'mate' to hand over the light source willingly.

Note of warning: Never willingly give a Light Source or Bladed Weapon to anybody who has an Insane condition...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.